direction of an impetuous charge

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
expendablecinc
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:55 pm

direction of an impetuous charge

Post by expendablecinc »

If a BG of Shock Mounted do not declare a charge (and hence do not declare a path) and the enemy to thier front evade must the chargers pursue the evaders regardless of the direction of the evade? Assume there are no other enemy within charge range?

Can they instead elect to go straight ahead? Is there any choice available to those who have not declared a path (ie failed a test to hold)?

What if there other enemy within charge range but not straight ahead?

Anthony
caliban66
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:05 pm

Post by caliban66 »

I think once you fail you CMT, you must treat the situation as if you had declared a charge, thus defining a direction of charge allowed by the rules. Then your opponent evades, etc.
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

caliban66 wrote:I think once you fail you CMT, you must treat the situation as if you had declared a charge, thus defining a direction of charge allowed by the rules. Then your opponent evades, etc.
Yep and an impetuous charge must meet the normal requirements (# of bases required to contact etc.)
david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2859
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: Manchester

Post by david53 »

hazelbark wrote:
caliban66 wrote:I think once you fail you CMT, you must treat the situation as if you had declared a charge, thus defining a direction of charge allowed by the rules. Then your opponent evades, etc.
Yep and an impetuous charge must meet the normal requirements (# of bases required to contact etc.)

I thought that was only if contact was made.

If your forced to charge and the enemy evade all you need to do is clip a spot that the enemy were at before there evade and thus you can wheel.

Of course I could be wrong not got the rules book with me :)
batesmotel
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 3608
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:52 pm

Post by batesmotel »

david53 wrote:
hazelbark wrote:
caliban66 wrote:I think once you fail you CMT, you must treat the situation as if you had declared a charge, thus defining a direction of charge allowed by the rules. Then your opponent evades, etc.
Yep and an impetuous charge must meet the normal requirements (# of bases required to contact etc.)

I thought that was only if contact was made.

If your forced to charge and the enemy evade all you need to do is clip a spot that the enemy were at before there evade and thus you can wheel.

Of course I could be wrong not got the rules book with me :)
You need to declare your initial charge direction before the opponent evades and it must be legal at that point if he did not choose to evade. This is the charge direction used to determine the legal evade direction. If your opponent then does evade you may alter your charge direction to more directly pursue the evaders but must otherwise follow the original charge direction is my understanding.

Chris
....where life is beautiful all the time
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

Nearly,

You can only change the direction after an evade if the evaders are no longer in the path of the charge but otherwise the comment that the charge direction can only be changed based on the number of bases that would contact if the charged BG does not evade is correct.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”