Whoa Nellie!!!

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
JamesB
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:37 pm
Location: Texas

Whoa Nellie!!!

Post by JamesB »

Please help clear up some confusion on my part. :?

I do not have a rulebook handy today, but as I recall the second to the last bullet defining what shock troops won't charge on their own states:

* If their move could end in contact with a fortification, elephants or a riverbank (emphasis added by me).

By reading this one only has to put elephants with his shock foot (especially pike due to their depth) and those BG's adjacent and already in contact with the elephants never have to test?!?!?! :roll:

Shouldn't the word "enemy" be added before "elephants" in the errata for this to make sense?
kevinj
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2379
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Post by kevinj »

It does actually say that, but I've never seen it interpreted that potentially ending in contact with friendly elephants is a reason not to charge without orders.
spikemesq
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Posts: 472
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:18 am

Post by spikemesq »

Except at very close distances, how can troops starting in contact with friendly Elephants have a charge move that will "end in contact with . . . elephants"?

Spike
kevinj
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2379
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Post by kevinj »

Except at very close distances, how can troops starting in contact with friendly Elephants have a charge move that will "end in contact with . . . elephants"?
A 2 deep HF BG (e.g. of Impact Foot) which is adjacent to a BG of Elephants could roll a 1 on its VMD and still be in contact...

Should it be exempt from having to test not to charge without orders? That would seem a perverse interpretation.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3115
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

It's a nice spot James but I don't think you'd win too many friends by arguing that point.

Check out Page 52 - this starts by describing the impact phase and then ends with a definition of charge contact.

Hopefully that should reassure you that the elephants do have to be enemy ones?
Last edited by petedalby on Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Pete
Blathergut
Field Marshal - Elefant
Field Marshal - Elefant
Posts: 5882
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada

Post by Blathergut »

Common sense, if nothing else, but probably language too, implies all of that is talking about charge targets.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”