Rear Support when fighting in two directions

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Caledonian
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:05 pm

Rear Support when fighting in two directions

Post by Caledonian »

A battle group of four stands is fighting in two directions with two stands fighting each way at a right angle to one another . Can it claim rear support from both rear edges. If not, what edge counts as its rear edge. I cannot find anything in the rules which covers this situation

Thanks

John
Mehrunes
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:21 pm

Post by Mehrunes »

Without the rule book at hand: In order of getting rear support, there mustn't be enemy troops between the BG providing and the BG claiming rear support.

Edit: Oops, I missed the "right angle" and thought the BG were fighting to front and rear. In that case, I assume, the former rear edge counts.
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

cant get rear support if the supporters are currently in melee so in short, no you can't.
Blathergut
Field Marshal - Elefant
Field Marshal - Elefant
Posts: 5882
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada

Post by Blathergut »

I don't think he meant the rear support dudes were fighting. I would think you would still use the original rear side but can't say so for certain.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

BG fighting in m ore than one direction cannot get rear support from anyone.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
Mehrunes
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:21 pm

Post by Mehrunes »

Now it's getting interesting. Can you point me to the part of the rules where I can find this?
At least, it's not part of the glossary entry 'rear support' where I would assume to find it.
Caledonian
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:05 pm

Post by Caledonian »

Can you please indicate where in the rules it states that a BG fighting in two directions does not get rear support. I could not find it anywhere.

Thanks

John
Ghaznavid
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 800
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:44 am
Location: Germany

Post by Ghaznavid »

Given these threads:
viewtopic.php?p=62677#62677
viewtopic.php?p=56577#56577
I would be somewhat surprised if "Phil the Naked Fanatic" :lol: can produce such a rule. Although I might have missed a more recent discussion on the topic.
Karsten


~ We are not surrounded, we are merely in a target rich environment. ~
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

whoops my bad I thought the BG was rear charged and was trying to get rear support from the other half of the unit. Looks like the rear is well the backside of whichever side has the most bases so guess that is where you have to look for your rear support. I think this would make rear support even more difficult as your supporters have to be facing the same direction as the now defined rear of the BG. Quite confusing and hope Blathergut never tries to pull this one off on me.
Caledonian
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:05 pm

Post by Caledonian »

The second thread link on Ghaznavids post would appear to clarify the matter.

Thanks to all for their inputs

John
timmy1
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, England

Post by timmy1 »

Phil the naked fanatic has surprised us all more than once before so I am sure he can do it again...
Mehrunes
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:21 pm

Post by Mehrunes »

Caledonian wrote:The second thread link on Ghaznavids post would appear to clarify the matter.
Does it?
I missed the quote from the rules then - or a clarifying answer from Richard himself - or an overwhelming consensus. One of these I need to believe a certain ruling. :)
Caledonian
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:05 pm

Post by Caledonian »

In the absence of any input from Richard himself, I am happy to accept Terry's.
Ghaznavid
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 800
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:44 am
Location: Germany

Post by Ghaznavid »

Mehrunes wrote:
Caledonian wrote:The second thread link on Ghaznavids post would appear to clarify the matter.
Does it?
I missed the quote from the rules then - or a clarifying answer from Richard himself - or an overwhelming consensus. One of these I need to believe a certain ruling. :)
Personally I'm happy with a clarification from any of the rule authors, at least as long as none of the other two objects. Since neither Simon nor Richard it's kinda save to assume they are ok with it.
Karsten


~ We are not surrounded, we are merely in a target rich environment. ~
Mehrunes
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:21 pm

Post by Mehrunes »

Ok, I had to research first who is author besides Richard. So one can regard every reply of these three (what's Simon's nick here?) as official ruling?
I ask because "I would say" isn't exactly as strong as an official errata or FAQ (besides the necessity to know the particular discussion).
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

I would strongly caution against taking the postings of authors as gospel, unless they've conferred and given an agreed opinion in the FAQ.

Authors can often recall what they intended to rules to say, what the options were that were considered in playtesting, or what they should have written. None of those have any bearing on what the rules actually say. I play two of the authors quite frequently, and they get the rules wrong just as everyone else does.

In this case it's misleading to take an off the cuff comment by an author made two years ago as"official guidance". Particularly so as "what counts as a unit's rear when it's facing in more than one direction" is not well defined in the rules.

When I have seen this ruled upon by umpires, the conclusion has always been that it is the original rear of the BG that is relevant. Which knid of makes sense, as a friendly unit to the original rear might be well placed to help out against whatever just hit the flank.
Caledonian
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:05 pm

Post by Caledonian »

The reason I asked the question initially was that I had to rule on it at a competition the previous weekend. There being nothing in the rules to cover it my ruling was, by coincidence, what Terry had said including the quote from the other section about units having two fronts. Both players accepted the ruling without further discussion and got on with the game.
Given Terry's opinion, that is the way I will play it until the authors come up with an alternative.
If however, I am playing in competition and get an alternative ruling from the umpire, I will accept that quite readily as I am aware that we all have differing opinions as to how some aspects of the rules, which are not specific, should be applied.

John
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

Caledonian wrote:The reason I asked the question initially was that I had to rule on it at a competition the previous weekend. There being nothing in the rules to cover it my ruling was, by coincidence, what Terry had said including the quote from the other section about units having two fronts. Both players accepted the ruling without further discussion and got on with the game.
Given Terry's opinion, that is the way I will play it until the authors come up with an alternative.
If however, I am playing in competition and get an alternative ruling from the umpire, I will accept that quite readily as I am aware that we all have differing opinions as to how some aspects of the rules, which are not specific, should be applied.

John
IIRC Terry ruled against me at Britcon 08 and then posted the opposite opinion on here.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3857
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Post by dave_r »

IIRC Terry ruled against me at Britcon 08 and then posted the opposite opinion on here
He did that to me as well. Rules writers. Can't trust them.

All I have to say is..... Burnley...
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

dave_r wrote:
IIRC Terry ruled against me at Britcon 08 and then posted the opposite opinion on here
He did that to me as well. Rules writers. Can't trust them.

All I have to say is..... Burnley...
The wargames club was in the Big Window pub when I was there. It was a long time ago. So long ago Newcastle were in a higher league than them.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”