charging 2 bg at 1 bg that is directly to the front

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
sparabara88
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:00 pm

charging 2 bg at 1 bg that is directly to the front

Post by sparabara88 »

what happens if i have two bg that want to charge one enemy bg, the lh are directly in front of the kn, the kn are going to charge but i want the lh to go with them because im expecting the enemy lh to evade

lh lh

kn kn lh lh

is it best to do a small wheel at the start of the charge so both the kn and lh have a target directly to there front, as i understand it that is allowed under the rules, or do i wheel the lh later in the charge when the kn have being out run.
what would happen if the kn caught the lh would that cancel the charge of the friendly lh who could than move up later as an overlap
Caledonian
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:05 pm

Post by Caledonian »

If the enemy BG is directly to the front of your Kn BG your LH would need to do a small wheel to be able to contact.

Assuming the enemy LH is evading, it will roll its VMD and carry out its evade move.

You then roll VMDs for both your BGs. The one with the resulting highest move then moves first. (Probably the LH) Then your second BG moves.

If you contact the enemy LH with either or both of your units he drops one cohesion level and turns the contacted bases to fight at a double minus.

If both of your BGs have made contact and you have more than one base in contact with any one of his, you decide which of your bases fight as you have the higher number of bases in contact.

Hope this helps

John
MCollett
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:41 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Post by MCollett »

Caledonian wrote:You then roll VMDs for both your BGs. The one with the resulting highest move then moves first.
You are thinking of initial pursuits. For charges the charging player chooses the order in which his BGs move, and does so before rolling VMDs.

Best wishes,
Matthew
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

But if the LH are directly in front of the knights the knights cannot voluntarily charge. Their direct path to the target BG is blocked by the LH. So the only way the knights could charge is if they fail a test not to charge. Also, if that were to occur, and the LH wants to wheel a bit to let the knights by, the LH still needs to be able to hit as many enemy bases as if it went straight in. And since the LH is a declared charge, the knights being the result of a failed test not to charge, it would have to decide where it was going before knowing if the knights were coming along. This assumes that the target is indeed something the knights would need to test against, even with intervening friends in the way.
Of course this also assumes that the knights could not reach the target by dropping back bases to reduce their frontage by one base in order to clear the LH.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
sparabara88
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:00 pm

Post by sparabara88 »

the enemy light horse are directly in front of the kn so the kn can test or declare a charge, my idea is to have bg of light horse with my kn to charge with them so i have a better chance of catching any light opponent that decides to evade, i was not sure who would get priorety in the charge
the first answer that the one who has the longest move after v.m.d. seems to answer my question
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

gozerius wrote:But if the LH are directly in front of the knights the knights cannot voluntarily charge. Their direct path to the target BG is blocked by the LH. So the only way the knights could charge is if they fail a test not to charge. Also, if that were to occur, and the LH wants to wheel a bit to let the knights by, the LH still needs to be able to hit as many enemy bases as if it went straight in. And since the LH is a declared charge, the knights being the result of a failed test not to charge, it would have to decide where it was going before knowing if the knights were coming along. This assumes that the target is indeed something the knights would need to test against, even with intervening friends in the way.
Of course this also assumes that the knights could not reach the target by dropping back bases to reduce their frontage by one base in order to clear the LH.
I don't think this is entirely correct.

The KN could angle so they still have the same number of bases stirking and the LH can wheel in and touch the corner. Then the player with the most bases in contact chooses which fights.
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

Sorry. I failed to look at your diagram.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”