Just to clarify: charging shock cavalry

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
JadedMantis
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:47 pm

Just to clarify: charging shock cavalry

Post by JadedMantis »

I have so far played 2 games of FOG and I would just like to clarify something:
Both Impact foot and Light spear have an exception to their impact POA referring to "charging shock cavalry".
Each time I think I know what this means I start doubting again so I would just like to know does this refer to when the foot charge shock cavalry or does this mean that it does not apply when charged by shock cavalry?

Thanks
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28287
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Just to clarify: charging shock cavalry

Post by rbodleyscott »

JadedMantis wrote:I have so far played 2 games of FOG and I would just like to clarify something:
Both Impact foot and Light spear have an exception to their impact POA referring to "charging shock cavalry".
Each time I think I know what this means I start doubting again so I would just like to know does this refer to when the foot charge shock cavalry or does this mean that it does not apply when charged by shock cavalry?
It means that the foot don't get the POA if the foot charge (or intercept) shock cavalry.
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

With all POAs and modifiers in FoG they are written in the context of the BG claiming the POA or modifier.

In this case if an impact foot BG is charging shock mounted then the POA does not apply. If the impact foot are being charged by the same shock mounted then the POA does apply.

The impact foot are charging if they initiated a charge (normal or interception) or pursued into the cavalry.
JadedMantis
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:47 pm

Post by JadedMantis »

Cool, thanks.

I think what confused me is that for impact foot that is pretty clear "unless the foot are charging shock mounted", but the wording for the light spear is different just referring to "unless charging shock mounted" and this made me worried that there might me a different meaning implied here.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”