Front rank disordered rear rank in good order.

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
nigelb
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:03 pm

Front rank disordered rear rank in good order.

Post by nigelb »

I just need to check this: on a simple reading of the rules, it seems that only the actual bases in disordering terrain suffer penalties in combat, rather than the whole BG. In a battle, if fighting to break into terrain, the front rank may be disordered while the rear rank is still in open ground and therefore in good order. So the front rank loses 1 die in 3 for disorder, while the rear rank has its full dice.

Now it might be argued that, in combat, if the front rank are disordered, the rear ranks can hardly be more effective than those most involved in the fighting, so I wanted to check that I haven't missed some odd little clause somewhere in the rules.

I'm betting that my initial reading is correct, because the authors didn't want to complicate the rules with exceptions or special cases.

Can someone confirm my reading, or, if I'm wrong, tell me what I have missed?

Thanks
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

Your reading is correct.

Dissorder is base by base.
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

However, since the rear ranks fight with the same POAs as the front rank, if the front rank were say, offensive spears, the entire formation would lose the "steady spear" condition in combat. And the whole BG counts as "disordered" when making CTs and CMTs.
nigelb
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:03 pm

Post by nigelb »

Gozerius - thanks for the reminder about the POA bullet points relating to multiple ranks. I don't think I missed any of that in our game - it was specifically the number of dice to be rolled which I was concerned about.

Hammy - thanks for the confirmation. That's the way we played it anyway, but I think my opponent feared I was getting more dice than I should!
bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

Post by bahdahbum »

And what happens if we speak of pikes . The first rank is disordered, but not the 4th rank . Does the 4th rank give support ?

To be more precise : to give support in the open, should the unit as a whole be in open terrain or just the 4th rank .
rogerg
Captain - Bf 110D
Captain - Bf 110D
Posts: 855
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:02 pm
Location: Halifax, Yorkshire

Post by rogerg »

I think we've been here before. It is the front rank that is considered. The rational is that the base depths are far too deep for the scale.
I suppose there is a slight anomaly in that rear ranks in disordering terrain may cause dice to be lost, but the state of the front rank determines the PoA.
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5290
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

According to the combat charts 4th rank in open terrain, sounds like it has to be in the open, gives a + POA. Those of us who run pike armies need to know these things as our dastardly opponents are always trying to clog up our open ground with lots of rough rubbish.
bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

Post by bahdahbum »

So what : does the first rank determine the support or the 4th rank ?
Ghaznavid
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 800
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:44 am
Location: Germany

Post by Ghaznavid »

It is an 'extra' you only get if in the open and having a fourth rank. So it depends on the front rank being in the open and the 4th rank being present, it matters not if the 4th rank is in terrain or not.
Karsten


~ We are not surrounded, we are merely in a target rich environment. ~
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5290
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

Now we know for sure, glad that my not clear terrain pike paranoia is founded in some common sense. Now if only I can get Blathergut to stick his rough garbage really close together again.... :twisted:
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”