Quick one on conforming

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
aventine
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:20 am

Quick one on conforming

Post by aventine »

Had a game the other night when one of my units charged two. It wheeled to allow it to contact one of the targets in the flank and then stepped forward into contact with the other. No problem yet. During my movement the question of conforming came up. The shortest sideways move to conform took my unit out of contact with the flanked one. We read over the section and could not see anything to prevent this. My unit was as I have said stepped forward.

We played it that we lined up the two units and thus removed the flanked unit from the melee. I found this strange but then I was the one losing out.

Were we right?

Ta
Keith

Sorry no disgrams as I dont know how to put them on.
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

When you conform you don't lose contact.

OK actually you can have a BG slide from frontal contact to overlap if there is another BG in contact but if there are two enemy BGs with different facings then your troops don't conform but in the next enemy turn they may conform to you.
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

Specifically, If you can't conform to both enemy BGs by the shortest adjustment necessary, you do not move at all, but fight as if the bases in contact had conformed normally. See pages 86-87 for fighting priority when a base could conceivably conform to more than one enemy base. This means that the base you fight may not be the one you are physically touching. But will be no further away than the nearest adjacent base.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”