Bursting through friends

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

What about the part that they do not test if all enemy in range are skirmishers?
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3857
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Post by dave_r »

They have already tested - they don't test if they would have to burst through friends and the only enemy in range are skirmishers.

As Roger has said - this was after the tests have been taken.
david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2859
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: Manchester

Post by david53 »

I understand and accept what Roger has said.

So if two BG's charge and the enemy evades and a BG moves after them and swings in the way of the second BG that BG can't drop bases to get past.

Do I have that correct then.
lawrenceg
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Former British Empire

Post by lawrenceg »

Note that the compulsion to burst through is governed by:

"... the following rules apply if they could not contact the enemy without passing through friends, even by wheeling and/or dropping back bases."

It's not obvious what happens if they cannot contact enemy at all.

However, if you can contact the enemy without passing through friends by wheeling or dropping back bases, then the "no need to test" and "bursting through" rules don't apply- so you can wheel or drop back bases.

Also note that it is

"they do not test (and will not charge) if the friends are shock troops..."

Not simply "do not test". One could put forward case that "(and will not charge)" applies regardless of whether or not they have taken a test.
Lawrence Greaves
JanChris
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 2:38 pm

Post by JanChris »

lawrenceg wrote: "they do not test (and will not charge) if the friends are shock troops..."

Not simply "do not test". One could put forward case that "(and will not charge)" applies regardless of whether or not they have taken a test.
I like this interpretation but I think the last bullet overrides it: If they fail the test they must charge through the friends.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”