obstructed routers

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
lawrenceg
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Former British Empire

obstructed routers

Post by lawrenceg »

Had a routing BG obstructed by enemy.

It could avoid the enemy by a 1 base shift, but then would be obstructed by friends, therefore it can't shift.

Instead it would be destroyed because it could not avoid enemy.

Did I get this right, or did I miss something when speed-reading the rules?
Lawrence Greaves
Robert241167
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1368
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Post by Robert241167 »

I don't think the router could avoid the enemy.

Rob
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

if it can't avoid everything by shifting it doesn't shift
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
rich0101
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:20 am

Post by rich0101 »

I don't know because it would burst through friends.
ottomanmjm
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:25 am

Post by ottomanmjm »

Sounds like you got it right to me
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

I agree that you were right.

If you can't avoid all obstructions with a shift then no shift is allowed.
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

if you can't shift and end up in contact with enemy the unit is destroyed. Tough break for you but it happens in a crowded battlefield situation.
pease1
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 7:59 pm
Contact:

Post by pease1 »

Does this mean you can destroy a routing enemy unit with the buttocks of death?

For example, this Gaul unit, which is also in flank contact off-screen to the left with another legion. If it routs, would my blue-shield legion prevent it from routing and destroy it?

This is a completed game now, I'm just asking hypothetically.

Image

Full size image here: http://lh6.ggpht.com/_NLgslFM7K3M/SwvaO ... G_3964.JPG
Last edited by pease1 on Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:43 pm, edited 3 times in total.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

That depends if the white shielded unit is in the way as well. If it can drop a file or shift as per evading to get past it will. If it cannot it is destroyed. But hardly the buttocks of death. Big photo. Even on my 32" screen I can't see it all.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
pease1
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 7:59 pm
Contact:

Post by pease1 »

philqw78 wrote:That depends if the white shielded unit is in the way as well. If it can drop a file or shift as per evading to get past it will. If it cannot it is destroyed. But hardly the buttocks of death. Big photo. Even on my 32" screen I can't see it all.
sorry I adjusted the size, I didn't realize it was so big.

Thanks for the explanation. Since my blue-shield unit is only blocking one stand, the enemy unit could avoid it, but it's not going to get by the white-coat unit with only a single stand contraction since the white unit covers three stands of the Gauls. I guess with the right roll however, that it might not make it all the way to the white unit, and could, possibly rally the following turn. Of course if it fails, it's boom time.

This is another photo of the same unit, from the other side: http://lh5.ggpht.com/_NLgslFM7K3M/SwvaY ... G_4004.JPG
ShrubMiK
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:37 am

Post by ShrubMiK »

No way to rally it - unless all enemy units obligingly move more than 6MU away from it. ;)
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”