Shifting into Melee and Expanding

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

bbotus wrote:philqw78 caught the error for the most recent Scenario A, units can turn 90 degrees in the manoeuver phase if in side edge contact (page 76).

For completeness there is also an error in Scenario B.
Manoeuvre Phase
Red will be picked up and placed front edge to front edge with blue with close combat fought in the Melee Phase


Again, page 76, units are in side edge contact in Scenario B so A has the option of a 90 degree turn in the manoever phase.

I'm just clearing this up so no one takes the wrong inference. Sorry for being tedious.
I edited my earlier pictorial scenarios post so please see if I have captured the rolling discussion correctly.
bbotus
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
Location: Alaska

Post by bbotus »

I edited my earlier pictorial scenarios post so please see if I have captured the rolling discussion correctly
I think (I hope) the following summarizes the discussion to date:

Scenario A
Impact Phase: Red cannot Charge Blue. Ref page 52, corner to corner contact is not a legal charge. Also, page 53 paragraph 2, says a wheel while charging cannot be more than 90 degrees.
Manoeuvre Phase: Yes, correct per pages 76-78.

Scenario B
Impact Phase: This is where everyone has different opinions. It has been argued 3 ways
1. Since Red is starting in contact with Blue, it cannot move into contact with Blue and therefore cannot charge.
2. Red only has to wheel a smidge to get front corner to side edge contact and therefore may charge.
3. Red must wheel 90 degrees to charge Blue contacting with its front edge since it is starting with its front corner in contact with Blue.
2a and 3a. There is also disagreement as to whether a charge can be made with only a wheel. Some say Red must move forward a smidge before wheeling, some say a wheel is sufficient.
Manoeuvre Phase: Correct on all counts.

Scenario C:
Impact Phase: The same arguments are advanced here as in scenario B
Manoeuvre Phase: Correct on all counts.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”