kevinj wrote:Since we seem to have started a shopping list here...
Keils
The modification from the last errata to prevent concertina behaviour could do with some tightening. For example, if due to a base loss in the opponent's turn my (now) 10 base BG is 3-3-3-1, am I allowed to charge in my Impact phase, or must I resolve my formation in my next manouvre phase? Personally, I'd like this to be rectified at the time of the base loss in the same way that an Early Tercio mutates into a later one, but with the same restrictions regarding restricted areas.
Don't have my rules with me but , playing Swiss have pored over them extensively. Richard this follows on from our chat at Britcon.
I think what you are trying to achieve with Kiels is:
- form deep. Hence 2x4 deep filed of pike and friends.
- able to pop out a base either side of heavy weapons/swords.
But i don't think the rules quite do this:
- the current errata says you must form Kiel. But what is Kiel?
1. The general formation rule says all but back rank equal numbers but special formations are an exception.
2. The Kiel rule (an exception) says 2 files of 4 pikes (or friends).
So, it seems, I could have a 16 base Kiel 10 bases wide: two files of 4 deep and eight files one deep. I don't think this is what you are trying to achieve. I suspect what you'd want is that BG in a 4x4 block, albeit it could pop it's heavy weapons guys out.
Would a way to achieve this be to say that a Kiel must obey the general formation rules (except for the heavy weapons guys) and also the Kiel rules? so that GBG of 16 could be 4-4-4-4 or, HW-3-4-4-3-HW
The rules to 'pop out' heavy weapons are a bit broken:
- the rules say different troop types within a mixed BG can form their own rectangles in the BG. But:
1. In the Swiss, the troops type is all determined foot; it's the capabilities that differ. So that actually says you can't pop out the HW guys.
2. The 'each troop type in their own rectangle' wording suggests you can't pop one HW out and not the other (as you'd break their rectangle). Also, it suggests you can't pop one out on either side of the pikes as it again breaks the rectangle but have to do two on one side (which is not what you wanted I think)
Perhaps a way to fix this is a general statement to the effect of "BGs or GBGs consisting of mostly pikes but with 1 or 2 bases of HW or Sw capabilities can always expand a HW or Sw base or bases to a front rank position as long as they end up in side edge contact with a pike base of their BG and were not contibuting to a POA before expansion"