Charge Question

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

lawrenceg wrote:
grahambriggs wrote:I tink this is the part of the rules you want, in the 'declaration of charges' section at the front of impact:

"If a CMT is required to make a charge against certain troops, it must be taken if required for any of the battle groups that can be „legally‟ contacted in the chosen direction of charge, including by stepping forward bases. It need not and cannot be taken for those that can only be contacted if another battle group evades or routs."

I think the last sentence in particular shows that the MF do not need to test if the fragged skirmishers are the only unit in the way.
I've always interpreted that as:


The possibility of contacting troops B if original target A evades or routs does not force the chargers to test to charge A.

If the chargers want to contact B in the event of A evading or routing, they are not allowed to take the test and hence not allowed to contact B.
I agree with your first point; they are not forced to test and indeed cannot test.

On your second point, they need not test and cannot test to charge A. So, if they want to, they just declare a charge.

Once a charge is declared, if A evades (but not breaks?) skirmishers will stop short of some targets as " If any of their charge targets evade, skirmishers must halt their charge 1 MU away from enemy to their front whom they would not normally be allowed to charge without a CMT (unless they passed a CMT to charge them prior to charging)."

However, there is no provision for non skirmishers stopping short, so I think they will charge in. If you don't want to, don't declare a charge!

This has a similar feel to those situations where light foot charge say a routing enemy and are intercept charged by something ghastly like a pike phalanx. People think the LF will do the sensible thing and not charge in, but there's nothing to stop them unless one of the enemy BGs evades.
imanfasil
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:18 pm
Location: Texas

Post by imanfasil »

The difference is the example of the pike counter-charging skirmishers and them not being able to do anything but die is spiked out in the rules (FAQ) becuase it is so contrary to every other situation. If I had charged with skirmishers and they broke I'd have hit the HF too (according to some interpretations) this is not spiked out in the rules. IMO that is almost rule by omission that they don't make contact.
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

imanfasil wrote:The difference is the example of the pike counter-charging skirmishers and them not being able to do anything but die is spiked out in the rules (FAQ) becuase it is so contrary to every other situation. If I had charged with skirmishers and they broke I'd have hit the HF too (according to some interpretations) this is not spiked out in the rules. IMO that is almost rule by omission that they don't make contact.
If the enemy break then yes, your skirmishers will charge in. If the enemy evade, you can stop 1MU short (unless you wouldn't need a CMT to charge them: gfargged, flanks, rears)
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”