Fragged unit charged in the flank during pursuit

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

If i digest the hammy/pete view. It is

Pursuing strikes the frag'd unit.
It immediately checks for being charged while fra'd.
If it is flank contact the drop does not occur until the next impact phase.

Is that what you say?
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

hazelbark wrote:If i digest the hammy/pete view. It is

Pursuing strikes the frag'd unit.
It immediately checks for being charged while fra'd.
If it is flank contact the drop does not occur until the next impact phase.

Is that what you say?
Pretty much.

Change the first line to "Pursuing BG will strike frag'd BG" and I would agree.
titanu
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:26 am

Post by titanu »

hammy wrote: I know that if I was ruling as an umpire I would rule that the charged BG breaks at the next impact phase. That said I can't actually think that this has ever happened in a game I have played (pursuers catching fragmented enemy in the flank that passed their CT for being charged). I shall keep an eye out for it happening and if it does I will mention it here. After all I managed the evade with lancers at Britcon which I thought was pretty neat :)
I appreciate the exact circumstances may be uncommon but if the contacted BG was not fragged but in combat or shooting at somebody etc. Then not dropping a level for the whole of the rest of the turn would be important. I see the arguments both ways but might it be useful to have a ruling one way or another?
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

titanu wrote:
hammy wrote: I know that if I was ruling as an umpire I would rule that the charged BG breaks at the next impact phase. That said I can't actually think that this has ever happened in a game I have played (pursuers catching fragmented enemy in the flank that passed their CT for being charged). I shall keep an eye out for it happening and if it does I will mention it here. After all I managed the evade with lancers at Britcon which I thought was pretty neat :)
I appreciate the exact circumstances may be uncommon but if the contacted BG was not fragged but in combat or shooting at somebody etc. Then not dropping a level for the whole of the rest of the turn would be important. I see the arguments both ways but might it be useful to have a ruling one way or another?
Not dropping a level will generally not be relevant in practice.

The pursuers could hit the flank:
In the impact phase in which case you resolve it there and then
In the melee phase in which case it must be after all melees have been resolved as otherwise there would be no routs yet
In the JAP which would mean that the cohesion drop would not occur till the next impact but that would be before any more fighting.

I think the only time it might be 'interesting' would be if the fragged BG was hit as a result of a pursuit in the melee phase but had not dropped cohesion that turn and was bolstered in the JAP. If the same happened with the fragged BG hit in the JAP that would be after bolstering anyway.

There might be a few more situations but not many.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”