Page 1 of 1

commanders movement ?

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:51 pm
by Rattleshirt
This came up in a game last night... my opponent and I searched our rules but couldn't find a definitive answer so...

My commander moves with a BG he's attached to and includes a "second move" during the maneuver phase. Later during my JAP of the same turn, my commander wants to run off and join a new BG.

According to my opponent and I, this would allow that particular commander "three moves" during my turn. The first with the BG he's attached to, followed immediately by that BG's second move. Then, a "third" move during the JAP.

We thought this seemed like a lot, so we rolled for it and decided that for that game at least, the commanders wouldn't have the option of a JAP move if they were involved in a "second" move that turn.

Were we in the right, or did our commanders miss out on their God given right to move quite a bit?! Thanks!

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:59 pm
by ColeF
I believe a third move is legal, but I don't have the rules in front of me.

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:15 pm
by daleivan
Commanders can move in both the owning player's JAP and the opponent's JAP. And during the maneuver phase they (and an accompanying battle group if there is one with them) may make a second move as you note, as long as they remain beyond 6 MUs from any enemy during that second move. So, in theory, a commander could make four moves during an entire turn--two in their own maneuver phase, one during their joint action phase and one during their opponent's JAP. Pretty nifty.

Dale

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:04 am
by Rattleshirt
Thanks Dale, that's pretty much what I was looking for. I suppose the question arose b/c it isn't specifically stated "yes, this is possible" in the rulebook.

I definitely enjoy that opening rush of the game where I juggle commanders between BG and get my battle line in place alot earlier than my opponent anticipates. Good stuff!