Page 1 of 1
Overlaps
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:45 am
by philqw78

[/img]
Can the units A and B above both overlap the green unit in melee, do they both provide 2 dice? Would it be different if A was facing down the page and B facing up the page? What if A/B was a single unit?
Re: Overlaps
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:50 pm
by rbodleyscott
philqw78 wrote:
[/img]
Can the units A and B above both overlap the green unit in melee, do they both provide 2 dice? Would it be different if A was facing down the page and B facing up the page? What if A/B was a single unit?
No
No
No
No difference
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:26 pm
by Redpossum
Very good, Mr RBS, sir.
Now could you kindly
explain your verdict?
i.e., why not?

Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:29 pm
by rbodleyscott
possum wrote:i.e., why not?
Because
A battle group can only be overlapped by one file at each end of any of its four edges, even if it is stepped forward.
And that one file gets 1 dice for the front rank and 1 dice for the 2nd rank as normal. (or 2 dice for the front rank if knights etc.)
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:43 pm
by Redpossum
OK, clear enough, thank you, sir

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:31 am
by philqw78
I posted this after warfare, somewhere back in the mist that was 2008. The answers were the same then.
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:01 pm
by frederic
If unit B was not there, does the two A bases provide 0,1,2 dices ?
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:13 pm
by rbodleyscott
frederic wrote:If unit B was not there, does the two A bases provide 0,1,2 dices ?
As far as I can see 0, as
Full or partial side edge to side edge contact with an enemy base that is in front edge contact with friends.
does not apply.
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:52 pm
by ahd1976
But if B were not there and A were just a millimeter lower (closer to C), it would then have partial side edge contact and would be able to overlap, correct? If so, how would it look after conforming?
This came up in a game today and we were a little confused. The unit in question [pikes] had pursued out of my battle line and into the gap in my opponents, but since mine was pikes in 4 ranks, even after pursuit it was still side-adjacent to the first fighting rank of enemy to its side - the pikes didn't reach their target, who had autobroken and were later picked up, so my pikes were free to find a new battle in my turn.
Thanks,
Andrew
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:27 am
by rbodleyscott
ahd1976 wrote:But if B were not there and A were just a millimeter lower (closer to C), it would then have partial side edge contact and would be able to overlap, correct?
Yes, but if A was facing up the page it would only get one dice as there is no 2nd rank base behind the base eligible to fight as an overlap.
If A was facing down the page, it would get 2 dice.
If so, how would it look after conforming?
If troops are already in an overlap position they do not conform.
Posted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 10:24 am
by xavier
rbodleyscott wrote:ahd1976 wrote:But if B were not there and A were just a millimeter lower (closer to C), it would then have partial side edge contact and would be able to overlap, correct?
Yes, but if A was facing up the page it would only get one dice as there is no 2nd rank base behind the base eligible to fight as an overlap.
If A was facing down the page, it would get 2 dice.
On the other hand, when defining troops fighting in melee the rules say:
“
Rear ranks of an eligible troop type can fight if they belong to the same BG as the front rank or
overlap they are behind”
In this case, and considering B as part of the same BG as A and in the original position shown by the picture (with A not in side contact with the enemy), both B bases are rear ranks, therefore they would fight only if they are behind a rank already in overlap.
The first B base is not behind an overlap, an therefore it shouldn't fight. Right?
For the second B base I have my doubts. If the rules would say "or front rank overlap" it would clearly not fight either. But as it is written now, it is behind an overlap, but behind an overlap we just said doesn't count....
Thanks
Xavier
Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:05 am
by hazelbark
philqw78 wrote:I posted this after warfare, somewhere back in the mist that was 2008. The answers were the same then.
refreshing consistentcy. And it even match what the rules say. Remarkable.
Posted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:55 pm
by xavier
And the last one, if the 3rd and 4th rank bases do fight, with which POAs?
Do they get the POA for Pike in 3 ranks plus the additional POA for the 4th rank even if only two of them are actually engaged?
Thanks,
Xavi
Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:37 am
by hazelbark
xavier wrote:And the last one, if the 3rd and 4th rank bases do fight, with which POAs?
Do they get the POA for Pike in 3 ranks plus the additional POA for the 4th rank even if only two of them are actually engaged?
Thanks,
Xavi
You always count POA s as if the front rank. So the POAs would be as if there were 4 ranks of pike.

Must admit I am not reading rules on this but pretty certain.