Testing for shock troops charging without orders
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:08 pm
I have placed a quotation from a friend below regarding the charge
move of shock troops. Basically he is arguing that if shock troops
have a target capable of evading beyond their normal charge distance
but within charge distance + max VMD you can simply opt not to take
the CMT and charge automatically without orders. You couldn't charge
with orders as the target is outside normal charge range. I can see
his argument as the way the rule is written on p58 but I don't think
itis what is intended. Who is right and does the VMD apply if the
target decides not to evade?
"My contention is that shock troops like knights (shock foot have
certain exceptions when facing mounted) do not have to take the CMT if
they WANT to charge without orders. (Against troops that could evade.)
The problem comes with the variable move distance. The rules state an
assumption of charge + max VMD for charge range. If the target DOES
NOT EVADE do you dice for the VMD? The rules state only dice for VMD
when targets evade. So why assume the greater range if that in
practice is not the charge range?
eg. Cav lancers are 7" from single ranked cav. Cav lancers must dice
at this range NOT to charge. Their owner either fails the CMT or wants
them to charge. The single ranked cav stands but is now out of range
by the rules!
Is this correct?"
move of shock troops. Basically he is arguing that if shock troops
have a target capable of evading beyond their normal charge distance
but within charge distance + max VMD you can simply opt not to take
the CMT and charge automatically without orders. You couldn't charge
with orders as the target is outside normal charge range. I can see
his argument as the way the rule is written on p58 but I don't think
itis what is intended. Who is right and does the VMD apply if the
target decides not to evade?
"My contention is that shock troops like knights (shock foot have
certain exceptions when facing mounted) do not have to take the CMT if
they WANT to charge without orders. (Against troops that could evade.)
The problem comes with the variable move distance. The rules state an
assumption of charge + max VMD for charge range. If the target DOES
NOT EVADE do you dice for the VMD? The rules state only dice for VMD
when targets evade. So why assume the greater range if that in
practice is not the charge range?
eg. Cav lancers are 7" from single ranked cav. Cav lancers must dice
at this range NOT to charge. Their owner either fails the CMT or wants
them to charge. The single ranked cav stands but is now out of range
by the rules!
Is this correct?"