Page 1 of 1
LF EVADE
Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:30 pm
by zeitoun
Hi,
last night we have got an interresting situation. A BG of LF charged by a KN. Behind him a ennemi unit of Defensive Spearmen ( less than 1MU)
According to the rules, The LF cannot evade through her. What Happen?
the LF turn 180 and when he see the unit he stoppe moving? result REAR Charge...
Or did he doesn't move at all, without turning 180? result front charge.
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 8:30 pm
by zoltan
Why couldn't the LF evade through the defensive spear? What prevented this?
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 9:03 pm
by kal5056
Enemy def spear. Light foot are caught.
Gino
SMAC
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 9:47 pm
by timmy1
Zoltan, think Richie Mccaw at the breakdown - you don't expect to see him lying on your side of of the ball so you can't move it back - same principle...
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:46 am
by zeitoun
kal5056 wrote:Enemy def spear. Light foot are caught.
Gino
SMAC
thanks GIno, but caught by a rear charge or a front charge??
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:58 pm
by zoltan
timmy1 wrote:Zoltan, think Richie Mccaw at the breakdown - you don't expect to see him lying on your side of of the ball so you can't move it back - same principle...
Doh, mist da word 'ennemi'.
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 1:57 am
by ravenflight
zeitoun wrote:kal5056 wrote:Enemy def spear. Light foot are caught.
Gino
SMAC
thanks GIno, but caught by a rear charge or a front charge??
I would think 'rear' as they must attempt to evade and then stop.
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:07 am
by zoltan
Digital 9-18.
LF MUST evade and if they can't clear the ennemi Def Spear with their evade move (by shifting up to a base width etc) they must stop 1 MU from the Def Spear. If the Knights catch the LF they will be caught in the rear.
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:19 am
by zeitoun
ravenflight wrote:zeitoun wrote:kal5056 wrote:Enemy def spear. Light foot are caught.
Gino
SMAC
thanks GIno, but caught by a rear charge or a front charge??
I would think 'rear' as they must attempt to evade and then stop.
I think so.. but what happen if they start less than 1MU of the defspear..because P72 " must instead halt 1MU away from any enemy battle group in its path, with no shifting or contraction being allowed at all and
if it starts closer to them than 1MU does not move at all. does it mean : no turn???
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 6:30 pm
by zoltan
It's one of those ambiguous Catch22 rules. Because the qualification regarding evaders starting within 1 MU of a blocking enemy not moving at all is nested as an exception rule, it implies that you must first be an evader before you can trigger that qualification. Yet if the ("starts within 1 MU") qualification is triggered you are not an evader ("does not move at all"). The latter suggests the LF remain facing the Knights and receive a frontal charge. Either way, the LF are dog tucker.
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 8:41 pm
by ravenflight
zeitoun wrote:
I think so.. but what happen if they start less than 1MU of the defspear..because P72 " must instead halt 1MU away from any enemy battle group in its path, with no shifting or contraction being allowed at all and if it starts closer to them than 1MU does not move at all. does it mean : no turn???
If I were rulling it, I'd say that wording was assuming they started >1mu away, and so should be written '...if > than 1mu, or stop immediately if closer',however they still have to do the turn.
No matter what, they are going to attempt to evade. There appears to be no rule for your situation, so you just have to make the best of the situation by trying to read what the author's intent was.
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:22 pm
by dave_r
It's a compulsory evade. Whether the LF turn or not is largely irrelevant, any evader that is caught by a pursuer is treated as a flank or rear charge (even if you contact them frontally).
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 7:30 am
by ravenflight
dave_r wrote:It's a compulsory evade. Whether the LF turn or not is largely irrelevant, any evader that is caught by a pursuer is treated as a flank or rear charge (even if you contact them frontally).
Then can you chapter and verse the OP so they can find this?
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 9:50 am
by dave_r
Can do
Page 64: Attempts to charge or receive a charge with skirmishers: "A battle group entirely of light foot or light horse must evade a charge by enemy non-skirmishers unless either of the following reasons applies" (reasons are already being in combat and being in terrain.
This is repeated on page 69 under evade moves where it states "skirmishers
must evade charging enemy non skirmishers" (also with the caveats above)
Page 72 details the evade and it states (first paragraph second column) - "must instead halt 1 MU away from any enemy battle group in it's path, with no shifting or contraction allowed at all, and if it starts closer to them than 1 MU, does not move at all"
Page 73 (last bullet point) states "Evaders who are contacted by chargers
always count as having been charged in flank/rear".
Therefore in this scenario, the Light Foot would not be moved and even with the contact being frontal they are treated as being charged in the flank/rear.
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:34 pm
by zeitoun
I'm agree with this beautiful demonstration.
thanks
Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 8:13 am
by LEmpereur
zeitoun wrote:I'm agree with this beautiful demonstration.
thanks
As usual... Dave is really good!

Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:50 pm
by philqw78
LEmpereur wrote:zeitoun wrote:I'm agree with this beautiful demonstration.
thanks
As usual... Dave is really good!


Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 8:25 pm
by ravenflight
philqw78 wrote: 

Re: LF EVADE
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 8:38 pm
by philqw78
Doubleplus
