Page 1 of 1

Fighting in two directions.

Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 5:20 pm
by Ambrosius
Hi folks,

If a BG joins an existing melee to an enemies' flank or rear, and the enemy has all of its elements committed. Does the enemy count as fighting in two directions or does the BG joining the melee only count as an overlap ?

I must admit I find the two direction rule a bit vague, or maybe I'm just thick ?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Fighting in two directions.

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:09 am
by gozerius
Depends on how you came in contact. Did you charge into a flank or rear contact? that would necessitate at least one enemy base pivoting to face you in the charge phase. So, yes, he is fighting in two directions.
If you moved into overlap during your maneuver phase, he does not turn to face. Not fighting in two directions.
If you qualified as in contact, but not committed to combat, and pivoted or shifted onto his flank or rear during the maneuver phase, he has the option of turning to face you, or ignoring you. If he turns, he fights in two directions. If he ignores you, he fights only those bases to his front, so is not fighting in two directions, but the bases in contact with his flank or rear fight without risk of damage.

Re: Fighting in two directions.

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:10 pm
by Ambrosius
Thanks Gozerius, that's cleared up a few things.

Cheers.