Router / Pursuit query
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:54 am
1) If unit A fights unit B in B's turn, and B is broken in melee it will rout. We will assume the pursuers stay in contact. At the end of the melee phase, effectively the 1st rout move does the routers B lose a base for an in contact pursuer or does this only happen in the JAP phase??
2) On to JAP the routers out run the pursuers this time....
3) The following turn, (A's turn) A immediately recharges the routers who are only 1 inch distant. I am assuming that in this case nothing happens until the JAP phase where both A and B make a VMD? If pursuers stay in contact then B loses a base but if routers out distance A then there are no loses at all that turn to B?
OK now take exactly the above example as above, BUT unit B was routed in melee in unit A's turn. Points 1 & 2 would still happen the same but point 3 causes me a problem. The following turn is B's turn so A can not charge. B will sit still until the JAP phase where it will make a standard move away. It is now 1 inch + a standard move away when A has it's turn the next time, and is now too far away to charge.
This seems very much as though I have missed something as there are some comments in the rules that imply it is fairly easy to continue a pursuit even if you get out distanced one turn??
Sorry this sounds a bit complicated
So basically 2 questions
1) Does a base get destroyed at the end of the initial rout phase
2) How does a pursuer stay in contact if it routs an enemy unit in it's own turn
Andy
2) On to JAP the routers out run the pursuers this time....
3) The following turn, (A's turn) A immediately recharges the routers who are only 1 inch distant. I am assuming that in this case nothing happens until the JAP phase where both A and B make a VMD? If pursuers stay in contact then B loses a base but if routers out distance A then there are no loses at all that turn to B?
OK now take exactly the above example as above, BUT unit B was routed in melee in unit A's turn. Points 1 & 2 would still happen the same but point 3 causes me a problem. The following turn is B's turn so A can not charge. B will sit still until the JAP phase where it will make a standard move away. It is now 1 inch + a standard move away when A has it's turn the next time, and is now too far away to charge.
This seems very much as though I have missed something as there are some comments in the rules that imply it is fairly easy to continue a pursuit even if you get out distanced one turn??
Sorry this sounds a bit complicated
So basically 2 questions
1) Does a base get destroyed at the end of the initial rout phase
2) How does a pursuer stay in contact if it routs an enemy unit in it's own turn
Andy