Page 1 of 1
Evades hit in the rear
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:41 am
by bilugo
Situation arose the other day when we were playing and we could not find any reference in the rules.
LH evaded from Cavalry but were caught in the rear (light horse rolled a 1 and Cavalry a 6)
We did the impact phase with all the bonuses associated with the hit.
Question:
Can the LH or LF in any case break off again from a unit that has hit them in the flank/rear or do the LH/LF turn and face the unit hitting them in the flank?
Re: Evades hit in the rear
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 8:47 am
by rbodleyscott
bilugo wrote:Situation arose the other day when we were playing and we could not find any reference in the rules.
LH evaded from Cavalry but were caught in the rear (light horse rolled a 1 and Cavalry a 6)
We did the impact phase with all the bonuses associated with the hit.
Question:
Can the LH or LF in any case break off again from a unit that has hit them in the flank/rear
No. They have been caught and must suffer the consequences.
or do the LH/LF turn and face the unit hitting them in the flank?
Yes
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:17 am
by mikekh
Ok, the LH are contacted in the rear, assume two bases are contacted, and in the impact phase they will fight on -- whilst the cav fight on ++. Before the impact is resolved the two bases contacted will turn to face. So after the impact the LH BG is facing in two directions.
My question is: when do the remainder of the LH turn - in particular those elements that could fight as an overlap against the cavalry? Is this considered as 'feeding into' an existing combat and so will be one base per owning player's turn?
Thanks
Mike
evades hit in the rear
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:39 am
by WhiteKnight
p 70 "reforming", last two bullet points, may be helpful here.
This suggests you cannot reform if more than one enemy is contacting you from different directions but you CAN if contacted from one direction only.
Is this right?
Martin
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:24 pm
by terrys
My question is: when do the remainder of the LH turn - in particular those elements that could fight as an overlap against the cavalry? Is this considered as 'feeding into' an existing combat and so will be one base per owning player's turn?
Under the sesction headed: "Conforming to enemy in close combat"
At the start of the manoeuvre phase, the active player’s battle groups already in close combat
with the enemy must (unless otherwise stated below or physically impossible) pivot and/or
slide bases by the minimum necessary to conform to the enemy bases in contact:
So the answer is: "At the start of the manoeuvre phase"