Page 1 of 1

Shock troops fighting in overlap -have to charge?

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:35 pm
by Custor
When shock troops are already fighting in an overlap are presented with a compulsory charge target...do they have to charge it (moving away from the overlap) or are they considered already in combat?

Re: Shock troops fighting in overlap -have to charge?

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:08 pm
by Robert241167
Hi there Custor

In my understanding shock troops in overlap would have to test not to charge a compulsory charge target as nothing in the rules exempts them from doing this.

Rob

Re: Shock troops fighting in overlap -have to charge?

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 10:46 am
by RobKhan
In the general movement rules covering moving from overlap it states that overlapping BG's are free to declare charges in the impact phase.
In the Impact Phase chapter covering the CMT for charging without orders there is no exception for overlapping BG's. Already being in melee (overlap??) is an exception only for when there is an available target BG that would require charging through another friendly BG.
So If they are free to declare a charge, they are also free to "do their own thing" and you need to do a CMT.
Cheers
Rob

Why is a corporal serving on a destroyer??