Page 1 of 1

charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:10 pm
by domblas
Hello foggers,

Last friday a rule point arose :
My BG of 4 HF was in position to charge cataphracts but it was not my turn and it was charged in flank by LH. I turned the 2 bases contacted , but didnot conforme to keep facing the catatcphracts and after the fight,during the JAP the LH broke off. At impact, my opponent argued that as it was facing 2 directions , my BG of HF could'nt charge. What do the rule say on this situation?
Edward

Re: charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:27 pm
by petedalby
I do not believe this situation is explicitly covered by the rules. :?:

But since a BG with bases facing in more than 1 direction cannot pursue routers - p108 - it would appear most likely that it cannot charge either.

A charge must be on a target within normal move distance. A BG with bases facing in more than 1 direction cannot move until it reforms. Therefore I agree with your opponent - no charge permitted until after you reform.

Re: charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:52 pm
by kal5056
Seems a clever use of LH if you ask me
Now if only the Cats had bow you would be in a pickle.

Gino
SMAC.

Re: charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:32 pm
by gozerius
petedalby wrote:I do not believe this situation is explicitly covered by the rules. :?:

But since a BG with bases facing in more than 1 direction cannot pursue routers - p108 - it would appear most likely that it cannot charge either.

A charge must be on a target within normal move distance. A BG with bases facing in more than 1 direction cannot move until it reforms. Therefore I agree with your opponent - no charge permitted until after you reform.
Actually, you just covered where in the rules this explicitly covered. A battle group facing two directions cannot move voluntarily until it reforms in the maneuver phase. Additionally, no formation changes are permitted in the charge phase except dropping back one file to bypass friendlies.

Re: charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 6:19 am
by petedalby
Actually, you just covered where in the rules this explicitly covered.
Thanks - but I think it is implicit rather than explicit. If it had appeared on Page 62 - 'Troops Who Cannot Charge' - then this question would not have arisen.

But I'm glad you agree - I'm sure there will be others who don't.