Page 1 of 1

Formation question....

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:08 am
by KenWinland
Howdy!

Not too clear (to me at least) at the moment...

Generally, formations must be rectangular. So let's say we have a unit of 6 stands;

XXX
XXX

During the move phase, it expands by 2 stands;

X
XXXXX

What happens to the stand in the last rank? Does it "conform" to the front row during the appropriate phase? Is that formation legal?

Ken

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:19 am
by AlbionOak
Hello Ken
I can answer this as I had a similar question as I too was a little confused by the "rectangular" thing. The 5 + 1 formation is legal because the rules state that the rear rank (only) can have less bases.

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:35 am
by rbodleyscott
Albion wrote:Hello Ken
I can answer this as I had a similar question as I too was a little confused by the "rectangular" thing. The 5 + 1 formation is legal because the rules state that the rear rank (only) can have less bases.
In the actual rule book this is clarified by a diagram which shows the formation

XX
XXXX

amongst others.

Formation question....

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:42 pm
by KenWinland
Thanks for the answers!

This is what we thought, but then the whole rectangular thing kept cropping up.

Cool!

Ken