Page 1 of 1
Impact foot POA - "unless charging shock mounted"?
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:45 pm
by njb2729
I'm sure this has been asked before but I can't find it using search. Sorry if this seems a dumb question
Does this mean:-
a) the impact foot are charging (i.e have moved in the impact phase to contact) the shock mounted
b) the shock mounted are charging (i.e have moved in the impact phase to contact) the impact foot
Many thanks

Re: Impact foot POA - "unless charging shock mounted&qu
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:57 pm
by SirGarnet
njb2729 wrote:a) the impact foot are charging (i.e have moved in the impact phase to contact) the shock mounted
This. The quick reference table shortens the full wording in the full table on page 96, which says "against any mounted, unless the foot are charging mounted shock troops".
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:05 pm
by njb2729
Ah, thanks for that.
Seems strange that shock mounted are at more of an advantage if they stand still and let impact foot charge them. I would have thought the other way round.
So lancer armed Cavalry/knights/cataphracts will be +1 POA if they stand still or level POA if they charge versus impact foot

Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:09 pm
by fgilson
njb2729 wrote:Ah, thanks for that.
Seems strange that shock mounted are at more of an advantage if they stand still and let impact foot charge them. I would have thought the other way round.
So lancer armed Cavalry/knights/cataphracts will be +1 POA if they stand still or level POA if they charge versus impact foot

The rules account for counter charges and other effects we don't see with the movement of figures on the tabletop...so, in this case, the mounted are not actually sitting still and letting the foot hit them (which would be a disaster).
Also, yes mounted shock troops would prefer to have foot shock declare the charge but foot shock need never charge mounted while mounted shock will have to test CMT not to charge foot (generally)...so the foot simply need wait.
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:11 pm
by babyshark
njb2729 wrote:Seems strange that shock mounted are at more of an advantage if they stand still and let impact foot charge them. I would have thought the other way round.
I think you need to re-conceptualize that. It's not that the shock cav are standing still, but that the impact foot aren't. The rules say that the BG receiving the charge is assumed to be taking appropriate action, i.e countercharging, even if this movement is too small to be shown on the tabletop. If the impact foot instead receive the charge of the shock mounted then they get to set themselves; if they are the ones charging then they do not.
Hope that helps,
Marc
Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:15 am
by petedalby
I think you need to re-conceptualize that.
I love what you guys do with the Queen's English!

Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 2:27 pm
by Blathergut
ya..we muddled this the first couple of games way back...but help here quickly sorted it then too!