Page 1 of 1
					
				A flank charge or ??? was it?
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:01 am
				by papsterdino
				In dementia land we had a situation develop with a flank charge i will describe it as best i can
                        CC
                        CC
                        MMM
                 KK   MMM
                 KK     AAAAAA
A unit of foot (M) was happily fighting a unit of cav (C) which was not able to break of. A unit of Knights (K) declared a flank charge on (M) during their bound.  unit A which was a column of foot facing (K) intercepted and was able to interfere with the front right base of (K) the remaining bases of (K) stepped forward and hit (M) partially on the side edge of the front base fighting and the side edge of (C)  apolagies as the diagram does not quite line up as the bases did   The question is is this still a flank charge????? opinions please
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:04 am
				by philqw78
				A bit like this?
(Base depths are not to scale.  But apparently thats allowed in FoG)
IMO, if it was a legal flank charge before moving to contact its still one now
 
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:41 am
				by papsterdino
				nearly perfect picture but not touching the 2nd rank of foot. and if if this still qualifies what happens to the 2nd rank?
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:00 pm
				by christospap
				I believe it is a legal flank charge (in fact, I've tried to look for reasons it would not be one, and I cannot find any. Unless of course there is something drastically wrong with the picture...).
What happens now? Do the middle foot get to throw two dice in the impact phase, since they are not turning to face their opponents? Or do they lose them?
C
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:46 pm
				by philqw78
				If the top base of flank contacting chargers only contacted the rear rank of foot they should turn immediately, but can't, and then fight as if conformed.  So as if turned.
if the step forward only hit the front rank they do not turn, but are still contacted to flank, so are disrupted, 2 dice v 2 in impact.  Not turned so do not get a minus POA in melee
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:41 pm
				by papsterdino
				where is that bit in the rule book?
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:25 pm
				by philqw78
				Now I have the book.
P56 last bullet.  However, I am wrong.  "immediately turned.....,provided that they are not already in contact to their front .If all contacted bases are already in contact one of them is turned"  A misrememberation.
But it can't turn.  Friendly BG can be pushed to the side for conforms if they are not in melee.  The others are in this instance.  So I would assume fight as if conformed and take the -1.
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:03 pm
				by Mehrunes
				Turning to a flank charge is not conforming. They turn as per normal rules for turning. That means: no pushing of friendly BGs at all.
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:25 pm
				by philqw78
				so do they take a minus poa?
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:19 pm
				by rogerg
				This isn't covered in the rules. I would suggest that they fight as if they had turned. Arguably they are fighting in two directions, there just isn't space to depict it with the figures.
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:41 pm
				by Mehrunes
				Agreed. Turning bases is only for the depiction of "fighting in two directions".
@philqw78
I agree with your posting except the pushing thing. Even if not in melee, the friendly BG would not be pushed.
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:21 am
				by philqw78
				Mehrunes wrote:Agreed. Turning bases is only for the depiction of "fighting in two directions".
@philqw78
I agree with your posting except the pushing thing. Even if not in melee, the friendly BG would not be pushed.
Because its not conforming, its turning (using normal rules for such)
 
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:57 pm
				by papsterdino
				To clarify this to take back to the others at my club
A flank charge is a flank charge at the pt of declaration
if the base or bases that qualified it as a flank charge are intercepted any other bases stepping forward still qualify as a flank charge
if contacted bases are unable to turn to face, continue as if they did, with all minuses.
in our game if you look at phils diagram only the front rank of spearmen was contacted not both,
what does the 2nd rank do (A) fight to flank or (B) fight to front as though front rank has turned to flank and it has moved forward?
                          
                                                                                          Dino
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 1:21 pm
				by philqw78
				papsterdino wrote:what does the 2nd rank do (A) fight to flank or (B) fight to front as though front rank has turned to flank and it has moved forward?
                          
                                                                                          Dino
Under normal rules for turning it would normally end behind the front rank, so end up as second rank fighting to flank