Page 1 of 1
Evading from Intercept Charges?
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 4:02 pm
by MattDower
I got a bit tied up in knots with intercept charges and evades last night - can someone please help me.
The situation was that Light Foot (1) wanted to charge Light Foot (2) , who had a unit of friendly Archers beside and a bit behind the Light Foot.
The Light Foot (1) declared a charge and Light Foot (2) decide they want to evade.
Also the archers decide they want to intercept charge Light Foot (1).
I guessed that in this instance the Archers move first - moving to infront of Light Foot (2) and potentially into contact with Light Foot (1).
Can Light Foot (1) now choose to evade from the intercept charge?
Could Light Foot (2) evade ?
If the Archers' Intercept charge would not bring them into contact with Light Foot (1) (say if they started 3" away) - what would happen then?
Thanks
Matt
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 4:11 pm
by nikgaukroger
Go to page 168 in the rules and follow the full sequence laid out there. This will help you get the moves in the right order.
Remember as well you cannot interpenetrate in a charge - which includes intercept charges.
You cannot evade from an intercept charge.
BTW intercept charges do not actually move into contact with chargers (unless doing so as a falnk/rear intercept charge), they are moved into the charge path and the chargers are then moved into contact.
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 4:11 pm
by philqw78
This is the complex bit. But intercepts are.
Its in the FAQ at the FoG site but a quick overview for your questions
1. Charging troops cannot evade if intercepted.
2. Foot may only move 2 MU in an intercept. Intercepts also move before evades so if the LF were in the way at all there could not be an intercept charge.
3. Interceptors do not contact chargers. The move into the path of the charge. Upto 2 MU if foot, 4 MU if mounted. Stopping before contact. The charge is then completed.
3.b. Unless it is a legal flank or rear charge intercept in which case the original charge is cancelled and the interceptors move into contact and act as if charging.
4. Evades, as above, move after the intercept but still evade
5. If the intercept charge would not get in the path of the LF charger it is not an intercept charge so does not happen.
OK ....
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 4:24 pm
by MattDower
Well thank for your prompt answers. Things are getting a bit clearer.
So.....
The Archer does the intercept charge (it was beside and further back - not actually behind Light Foot (2)).
It then stops short of Light Foot (1).
Must Light Foot (1) now charge into the Archers or can they cancel their charge?
Indeed, if they want to, or must, complete their charge - do they need to pass a CMT for skirmishers wishing to charge non-skirmishers?
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 4:50 pm
by philqw78
The LF are going to die. They cannot cancel. They should have thought about that before they charged headlong to their death. No they do not need to pass a CMT. However if the Archers could have counted as a target of their charge,(e.g. if they had to step forwards into them upon contacting the other LF had they stood(LF2 stood))), they could not charge in the first place.
The final thing is if the LF(1) could charge and declared they cannot then cancel because of an intercept. They have already committed (a heinous crime) to charge
Got it!
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:07 pm
by MattDower
philqw78 wrote:The LF are going to die. They cannot cancel. They should have thought about that before they charged headlong to their death. No they do not need to pass a CMT. However if the Archers could have counted as a target of their charge,(e.g. if they had to step forwards into them upon contacting the other LF had they stood(LF2 stood))), they could not charge in the first place.
The final thing is if the LF(1) could charge and declared they cannot then cancel because of an intercept. They have already committed (a heinous crime) to charge
Many thanks - I think I have got it now!
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:51 am
by shall
All correct
Si
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 5:47 pm
by footslogger
"3. Interceptors do not contact chargers. The move into the path of the charge. Upto 2 MU if foot, 4 MU if mounted. Stopping before contact. The charge is then completed."
Is this correct? Where does it say that in the rules?
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:57 pm
by rbodleyscott
footslogger wrote:"3. Interceptors do not contact chargers. The move into the path of the charge. Upto 2 MU if foot, 4 MU if mounted. Stopping before contact. The charge is then completed."
Is this correct? Where does it say that in the rules?
Nowhere. It is merely implied by the wording in the rules. It is, however, clarified in the FAQ.
http://www.fieldofglory.com/file/FAQ_ver5.01.pdf