Page 1 of 1

Measuring Shooting

Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:27 pm
by AlbionOak
The diagrams are quite clear and work well for determining distance fron shooter to target when all are parallel.
My question is, what happens when the target is angled. The nearest shooter is easy to meaure but what about the adjoining elements. There is a white line on the diagram on page 83? (my book is not here now). Does that white line follow the line of the front rank of the target, even if it is angled to the shooters? Or more likely I think, does that white distance line run parallel to the shooters' front base line starting from the distance from the shooters to the nearest point of the target. Hope this is clear :oops:

Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:45 pm
by SirGarnet
It might help to ignore the white line parallel to the shooters.

The two things to consider are arc, which is two base widths ahead to either side of the shooting base if none of the shooting BG's bases are in effective range of the target and one width otherwise, and range, measured from the nearest point on the shooting base's front edge or corner to the nearest point of the target that is in arc. The 2-width rule only affects Heavy Artillery and bows on foot since only they can shoot beyond their effective range.

Cheers,

Mike

Another Shooting Distance and Dice Allocation Question

Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 6:34 pm
by kal5056
Along these lines if you have 3 stands of a BG at an angle from shooter in BG

A
A
A
A*


D*DDDD

Distance * to * is 6 MU's

If the left hand base in D can measure a 6 inch line to the right hand base in A but this base is outside of the 2 base width range (IE 3 bases over) can this base count in the shooting?
Thank You
Gino
SMAC

diagram didn't work

Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 6:40 pm
by kal5056
In the previous diagram BG AAAA was at a 45 degree angle top to bottom left to right.
Sorry couldn't make it print that way.

Re: Another Shooting Distance and Dice Allocation Question

Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:55 pm
by lawrenceg
kal5056 wrote:Along these lines if you have 3 stands of a BG at an angle from shooter in BG

Code: Select all

A
 A
  A
   A*


D*DDDD
Distance * to * is 6 MU's

If the left hand base in D can measure a 6 inch line to the right hand base in A but this base is outside of the 2 base width range (IE 3 bases over) can this base count in the shooting?
Thank You
Gino
SMAC
No it can't shoot because it is outside the 2 base width limit.