Page 1 of 1
Stepping Forward
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:39 am
by johnnyW
Quick question about stepping forward.
In the diagram base X has impacted BG A and base Y would contact A if it steps forward, however base Z will not contact A if it steps forward. Am I right in thinking that Z cannot move at all, and if Y were to lose contact with Z in stepping forward it can't move either?
Thanks
John
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:13 am
by philqw78
IIRC all can step forward up to 2MU, providing they don't lose contact with their BG, so Z steps forward with Y but not to contact.
And I now know this to be a lie
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:15 am
by nikgaukroger
A file only steps forward if it will contact enemy. Files that can't don't.
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:16 am
by philqw78
WOW

Each file has to make contact to step forward?
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:37 pm
by GrumblingGrognard
nikgaukroger wrote:A file only steps forward if it will contact enemy. Files that can't don't.
Okay, I had thought this was the case but was over-ruled by an opponent and the rules simply stated (when I checked--going from memory here) that you could step forward up to 2MU <period> Our situation was like the below with L and F being two separate units of light foot and H being a unit of light horse chasing during an evade:
Basically the light horse (HHHH) could not impact the FFFF unit unless
two files step forward and only the last file would be able to make contact (with anybody). It ended up like:
So, from what I understand from this thread, we resolved this wrong and the FFFFF unit should never have been impacted. Right?
Is there a page reference that states a file can not step forward unless it makes contact?
GG
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:55 pm
by MarkSieber
P. 55 first bullet "Every stepped forward front rank base must end in contact with an enemy."
Re: Each file has to make contact to step forward?
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:57 pm
by daleivan
GrumblingGrognard wrote:
Is there a page reference that states a file can not step forward unless it makes contact?
GG
As noted, "no bases can be stepped forward more than 2MUs from the
original line of contact." (Page54)
"Every stepped forward front rank base must end in contact with an enemy." (Page 55)
Since a stepped forward base must end in contact with an enemy but you can only step forward a base no more than 2MUs then if you can not end in contact in 2MUs you don't step forward.
Dale
Thanks gents
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:29 pm
by GrumblingGrognard
Thanks for the pages.
I would like to say this "made the difference" and "I would have won otherwise"...but such would be a lie. I would have gotten my a$$ kicked anyway as this was on the forgotten flank of the battle.
GG
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:22 pm
by SirGarnet
Note that infantry (or mounted in one rank) is often limited to stepping forward only 30mm or 40mm because they are not allowed to lose contact with neighboring files that are not eligible to step forward.