Page 1 of 1
Impact support fire.
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 8:10 pm
by Ambrosius
Played a game today Classical Indian v Later Persian. A unit of Persian cavalry charged an Indian medium foot bow armed battle group. My opponent claimed extra dice for a second rank of bow, which it appears he is able do so upon consulting the rules. Which begs the question can a BG composed of medium foot in three ranks,armed with bows, count support from both the second and third ranks?
Re: Impact support fire.
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 8:58 pm
by dave_r
You can indeed provide supporting fire from the second rank in melee. Pg 104 provides the details
"They must be supporting from a 2nd or 3rd rank, but not both".
Sounds like you've just started playing - there is an active club in Manchester that it might be worth popping over to to have a couple of games to show you the ropes.
Re: Impact support fire.
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:38 pm
by Ambrosius
Thanks Dave. Yeah, just re read the rules. 2nd or 3rd, but not both. I'm actually a member of the Liverpool War-game's Society. We have been playing a while, but now and again you re- read the rules and come across something you haven't been doing or have missed.