Page 1 of 1

Later South Indian Allies List - Query

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:01 pm
by hannibal
All,

Whilst checking lists, I've come across a query with the above ally list - P63 from Empires of the Dragon.

The Bladesmen details with minima and maxima are as follows:

Only Chola Empire - Medium Foot - Unprotected - Average - Drilled - Swordsmen - 4-6 bases
Any - Medium Foot - Unprotected - Average - Undrilled - Swordsmen - 0-12 bases

Overall total bases given as 4-12

My interpretation is that if you are not Chola, you are still bound by the 4 minima, so must take a minimum-sized BG of undrilled bladesmen, which would be 6 bases. The list author disagrees and has interpreted the overall minima as only applying to the Chola.

I'd appreciate a second opinion!

Thanks

Marc

Re: Later South Indian Allies List - Query

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:36 pm
by philqw78
I agree, you must have 4, but if cChola you must have at least 4 drilled and optional undrilled

Re: Later South Indian Allies List - Query

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 2:22 am
by ravenflight
hannibal wrote:All,

Whilst checking lists, I've come across a query with the above ally list - P63 from Empires of the Dragon.

The Bladesmen details with minima and maxima are as follows:

Only Chola Empire - Medium Foot - Unprotected - Average - Drilled - Swordsmen - 4-6 bases
Any - Medium Foot - Unprotected - Average - Undrilled - Swordsmen - 0-12 bases

Overall total bases given as 4-12

My interpretation is that if you are not Chola, you are still bound by the 4 minima, so must take a minimum-sized BG of undrilled bladesmen, which would be 6 bases. The list author disagrees and has interpreted the overall minima as only applying to the Chola.

I'd appreciate a second opinion!

Thanks

Marc
From what you've written above, I disagree.

If you're not Chola, you don't have to take any bladesmen, but if you do the must be undrilled.

If you're Chola you must have 4 drilled.

I don't see how it could be read any other way. "Only Chola" only refers to Chola. Any, refers to everyone including Chola. Why would the 'any' be bound by a 4 base minimum?

Re: Later South Indian Allies List - Query

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 6:50 am
by petedalby
My interpretation is that if you are not Chola, you are still bound by the 4 minima, so must take a minimum-sized BG of undrilled bladesmen, which would be 6 bases. The list author disagrees and has interpreted the overall minima as only applying to the Chola.
From the way the list is presented in the book I believe you are correct Marc.

Re: Later South Indian Allies List - Query

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:58 am
by philqw78
ravenflight wrote: From what you've written above, I disagree.

If you're not Chola, you don't have to take any bladesmen, but if you do the must be undrilled.

If you're Chola you must have 4 drilled.

I don't see how it could be read any other way. "Only Chola" only refers to Chola. Any, refers to everyone including Chola. Why would the 'any' be bound by a 4 base minimum?
Marc didn't write it very well.

Re: Later South Indian Allies List - Query

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:34 am
by ney63
Hi Marc you are correct, i do most of the list checking for competitions and i do occasionally miss and make mistakes but i totally agree with what you are saying and thats how i would rule it.

Andy :D

Re: Later South Indian Allies List - Query

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:45 pm
by hannibal
Thanks all

Marc

Re: Later South Indian Allies List - Query

Posted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:00 pm
by titanu
ney63 wrote:....i do occasionally miss and make mistakes....
Andy :D
No no :D