Page 1 of 1

charge query

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:51 pm
by navigator
I have a6 base LF unit exactly lined up a couple of inches ahead of supporting heavy foot. Both facing towards the enemy baseline.

The enemy has a 6 base LF unit with one base at an angle facing the HF and in between the LF and HF.

So. If the HF charge, the enemy LF evade away at an angle... the HF charge takes them into their own LF ( they don't have enough wheel to avoid their own LF)

What happens? do they burst through the friendly LF or stop behind them or are they forbidden to charge?

If the HF are impetuous foot do they still have to test to charge?

thanks in advance

Re: charge query

Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:39 am
by gozerius
Without a picture it is hard to give a proper interpretation. After rolling the VMD, the charger could wheel if there is sufficient room, dropping back a file if necessary to clear the friendly LF. If there is insufficient room to do this the charger is unable to complete the charge due to the obstructing friendly LF and the charge is cancelled.
In the case of shock foot, they must test, because at the moment of decision the charge path to the enemy LF is not obstructed. Then if they are unable to pass the friendly LF they will burst through.

Re: charge query

Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 4:29 pm
by navigator
seems reasonable.. many thanks.. will have a reread of the rules at some point