Page 1 of 1

Charging Evading Contacting Non Target

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:14 pm
by meledward23
Here is another question that came up.

AAAAA

BBBBB

CCCC

A - LF Bow
B - LF Bow
C - Shock Troops.

(A) charges (B).
(B) Evades (A).
(A) VMD's and HITS (C).

(A) would normally have to CMT to charge (C), but does not have to because C is revealed to (A) by an evading unit. Correct ?

(A) will carry out the charge into (C) despite the folly of such an action, correct?

Re: Charging Evading Contacting Non Target

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:23 pm
by BrianC
meledward23 wrote:Here is another question that came up.

AAAAA

BBBBB

CCCC

A - LF Bow
B - LF Bow
C - Shock Troops.

(A) charges (B).
(B) Evades (A).
(A) VMD's and HITS (C).

(A) would normally have to CMT to charge (C), but does not have to because C is revealed to (A) by an evading unit. Correct ?

(A) will carry out the charge into (C) despite the folly of such an action, correct?



This kind of situation arose for my last game Wed night. But with horse archers against cavarly. What we did and what I think the rules inidicate is to carry out the charge but stop 1 MU away from a target you could not charge without taking a CMT.

I don't think you can at that explicit point in the turn take a CMT to continue the charge into the heavier troops.

From an earlier discussion on charging, I wonder if you can declare both BGs as charge targets? Then perform the charge, if you fail the cmt then you only charge the LF and stop 1 MU from the heavier troops? Or not charge at all should you fail? Or not even be able to charge the heavier troops because of no clear LOS to the second BG so hence the original situation. Don't have the book with me so can'st say for sure.

Brian

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:40 pm
by Fugu
The LF can stop 1" away from the Shock Troops, they need not impact on them.

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:41 pm
by terrys
From an earlier discussion on charging, I wonder if you can declare both BGs as charge targets? Then perform the charge, if you fail the cmt then you only charge the LF and stop 1 MU from the heavier troops? Or not charge at all should you fail? Or not even be able to charge the heavier troops because of no clear LOS to the second BG so hence the original situation. Don't have the book with me so can'st say for sure.
You can't declare a charge on a BG that you can only hit if enemy evade or break.

The section on charges has a paragraph that reads:
"If a CMT is required to make a charge against certain troops, it must be taken if required for
any of the battle groups that can be “legally” contacted in the chosen direction of charge,
including by stepping forward bases. It need not and cannot be taken for those that can only be
contacted if another battle group evades or routs."

Since you can only take a CMT before you charge, LF/LH can never contact non-skirmishers revealed by an evade, and must stop 1MU short.

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:49 pm
by BrianC
Thanks for the info Terry, a very clean way of handling such a situation.

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:16 pm
by meledward23
Thanks Terry.