Page 1 of 1
Stragglers
Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 4:48 am
by PJR
I'm not sure I'm understanding this rule below:
Soviet Stragglers
Starting on turn 5 (October 12 to October 14) and for the rest of the game, IF at least one space
contains isolated Soviet units but no Axis units, a second pair of units is selected from the Axis
Fuel Shortage Table: up to four units may be out of fuel. (This represents increased interference
with Axis supply lines from roving bands of Soviet soldiers seeking to escape to their own lines.)
There is no further effect if the same unit is out of fuel twice.
I understand that, the first turn a soviet unit is isolated, and with no axis unit on the same space, then I will get 4 axis armor out of supply.
But the rule says that "There is no further effect if the same unit is out of fuel twice," so I would expect that the isolated soviet unit would not cause supply problems to the axis on the second turn that it is isolated.
But, I still see 4 axis armor out of supply on that second turn.
Can someone explain then what the rule means by "There is no further effect if the same unit is out of fuel twice."???
Thanks
PJ
Re: Stragglers
Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 4:54 pm
by Anon21
It means on the same turn. If you look in the main rules under "Supply," 8.9 shows the Axis Fuel Shortage Table. If there are no stragglers, the die is rolled once, and the two units specified will be out of fuel if they haven't already been destroyed. (If one or both have been destroyed, there is no further effect--the die doesn't get rolled again to ensure that two existing armor units are actually placed out of fuel.) For example, if the die rolls 1, 1st Panzer and 3rd Panzer will be out of fuel.
For each turn that there are stragglers, a second die is rolled. This introduces the possibility of overlap. For example, if the dice roll 1, 8, 3rd Panzer is hit twice--but as the rule you are quoting says, there is no further effect. In this scenario, only three units would be out of fuel: 1st, 3rd, and 4th Panzer.
Unless you clean up the stragglers by putting at least one unit in every space with an isolated Soviet unit, the second die will keep being rolled each turn.
A completely unrelated note about stragglers, something that I found to be a bit unclear in the rules: the straggler check happens after the supply check. What this means in practice is that if a Soviet unit is out of supply at the end of Turn 6 with no Axis unit in its space, then at supply check at the beginning of Turn 7 it still can't trace supply and so becomes isolated, it will count as a straggler for Turn 7, triggering the extra fuel shortage.
Re: Stragglers
Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2014 4:29 pm
by PJR
Got it. That makes sense now. thanks!
Re: Stragglers
Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 9:23 pm
by Radix_
I love how they have moulded a historical event into an aspect if the game. Very creative.
Too bad we've got these persistent game hung issues that ruin Game Center games for DoM and DF at the moment.
Re: Stragglers
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 4:40 am
by PJR
So a new question about the same topic.
I'm playing Germany, and at the end of the turn, there was a soviet unit became isolated.
I was thus expecting to see 3-4 Panzers out of supply on the new turn.
But instead, there were only two.
I'm trying to understand how this happens.
The way I can reconcile it is that the computer rolled two dice, and the same number came out twice. Thus, the same two panzers were selected to be out of supply.
Does anyone know if that is how that works for sure? Or would this be a glitch?
Thanks.
PJ
Re: Stragglers
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:40 pm
by Anon21
So a new question about the same topic.
I'm playing Germany, and at the end of the turn, there was a soviet unit became isolated.
I was thus expecting to see 3-4 Panzers out of supply on the new turn.
But instead, there were only two.
I'm trying to understand how this happens.
The way I can reconcile it is that the computer rolled two dice, and the same number came out twice. Thus, the same two panzers were selected to be out of supply.
Does anyone know if that is how that works for sure? Or would this be a glitch?
Your interpretation is probably correct--the computer rolled two fuel shortage dice, and they came up with the same number. Not a glitch, just poor luck for your opponent.
I say "probably" because if one or more of your armor units has been killed, it's possible that the die corresponding to those units was rolled. In such cases, there's no reroll.