Page 1 of 1
Pike/Shot Charging Mounted??
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:38 am
by Blathergut
I thought no pike/shot foot could charge mounted troops? In a game with iandavidsmith, Royalists vs Parliament (me), three times, his units of pike/shot have charged my horse that don't have impact capability. I thought this was not possible?
Re: Pike/Shot Charging Mounted??
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:57 am
by Rmarsden
9.4.3. Non-Permissible Charges
Foot units other than those with large pike blocks (keils) cannot charge cavalry, even in the flank or rear. Light Foot cannot charge unbroken non-light troops (other than artillery) in open terrain, even in flank or rear. Dragoons cannot charge unfragmented nonlight troops (other than artillery) in open terrain, even in flank or rear. These restrictions are based on usual historical behavior. FRAGMENTED troops (see Cohesion/Morale section below) cannot charge.
Re: Pike/Shot Charging Mounted??
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:26 am
by Blathergut
I know the rule. I didn't think the pike/shot Royalist units were classed as keils. So then why would they be able to charge horse? Or, are the Royalist units classed as keils?
Re: Pike/Shot Charging Mounted??
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:41 am
by Blathergut
A couple of his units are classed as keils. The army must be Edgehill '42?
Re: Pike/Shot Charging Mounted??
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:00 pm
by Triarii
Cornish?