Page 1 of 1

Artillery shooting over a crest

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:00 am
by Saxonian
Here is the situation:
A unit is defending 2MU behind the crest of a hill.
The enemy have a reformed infantry unit with an artillery attachment and an artillery unit within 6MU on the other side of the crest.

The enemy artillery cannot shoot - they have to be within 2MU of the crest to shoot over it.
The enemy infantry can shoot - within 6MU of the enemy.

What about the artillery attachment? Is it able to contribute shooting dice, even though it is outside 2MU of the crest?
This is even more important in the case of an attachment to an unreformed infantry unit that has only the arty attachment for medium range fire.

Re: Artillery shooting over a crest

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 5:07 am
by pugsville
Rules say artillery only fire over crests at close range.
page 67

Re: Artillery shooting over a crest

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 6:19 am
by Saxonian
Yeah, that's what I thought.
Just wanted to check there wasn't some kind of qualification because it is an attachment.

Re: Artillery shooting over a crest

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:40 pm
by hazelbark
recall this is simulating the skirmishing crossing the crestline.