Page 1 of 1

Feeding into Combat

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 8:50 pm
by ssean13
Hi

I have second question as a result of the battle my Medieval Germans fought against the Macedonians on Saturday. Can a player feed bases into a combat in the other players turn and if the the player whose turn it is does not feed any bases into combat?

In our battle my knights had charged into his light horse. We subsequently conformed and the Craig had moved his light foot into an overlap position. In his turn he could not feed any more bases of the battle group of light horse into combat, because their was space to do this. However, I could feed more bases of my knights into combat.

My reading of the rule, on page 35 of the beta test rule book, was that I was allowed to do this. The second bullet states:

"The active player expands first. The non-active player can match this expansion, or expand by one file to match the existing overlap, if there is room to do so. The non-active player cannot expand unless the active player expanded on the same side or already had troops on the that side in position to fight as an overlap in the next melee phase."

Richard Woolford, who was assisting Craig, read this as the non-active cannot expand unless the active player can. Which of us correct?

To move the battle long we rolled 1d6 to determine if I could do this and I rolled high and was allowed to.

There are a couple of photos below that show the situation.

Image

Image

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:07 am
by Empgamer
We would allow the feed-in (if it ends up looking like the photo - or indeed think you could expand the other side too). Our reading (for a similar occurrence we had) is that the rules allow the non-active player to match expansions/combat frontage, with match being viewed as they key word here. Thus either the active player has to have expanded on that side OR already have bases on that side as a result of the initial contact, if so (and only if), the non-active player can expand also. I can't see why you couldn't feed in to to combat the LF as it is in response to a feed in/overlap the active player has made provided:

a) you haven't already expanded on the opposite side and
b) the total expansion you made to your original formation is not more than one base width

Re: Feeding into Combat

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:29 am
by rbodleyscott
ssean13 wrote:My reading of the rule, on page 35 of the beta test rule book, was that I was allowed to do this. The second bullet states:

"The active player expands first. The non-active player can match this expansion, or expand by one file to match the existing overlap, if there is room to do so. The non-active player cannot expand unless the active player expanded on the same side or already had troops on the that side in position to fight as an overlap in the next melee phase."

Richard Woolford, who was assisting Craig, read this as the non-active cannot expand unless the active player can. Which of us correct?
You were

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:13 am
by kustenjaeger
Greetiggs

I like the use of a photograph to demonstrate a tactical/rules problem - it is very clear.

As to the instance it is interesting how a fairly straight forward wording can cause misunderstanding. I assume that this is the sort of thing that the FoG website will address once the rules are launched.

I'm impressed by the quick responses as well on this forum.

Regards

Edward

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 2:11 pm
by ssean13
Hi Richard

Thank you for answering this question.

Regards

Sean Smith