Page 1 of 1
					
				Question about charge
				Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:28 pm
				by hcaille
				Hi
From  a game yesterday we have a situation (very common i  think), but it was not very clear how to manage this :
.....BwBwBw
.....BwBwBw
..........CtCt  <CvCvCvCv
..........CtCt
So there is :
Player A : 1 BG of 4 Ct facing north
Player B : 1 BG of 6 LF with Bow facing south (at 3 MU for Ct front)
               1 BG of 4 Cv with bow in column and facing west (at less than 1 MU from Ct flank)
1) It was the player A turn. He want to charge the Cv but we assume it is not possible because if he wheel to face the Cv he cannot contact the Bw and there will be less bases in contact (just one) as if he charge straight forward against the Bw (2 bases in contact). Is it correct ?
2) Assuming there is no Bw, is it possible for the Ct to wheel in order to charge the Cv already menancing their flank ? 
3) If the Ct choose to charge he have to do it against Bw but in this case the Cv can make an interception and contact the Ct on the flank. Is it correct ?
4) It seems a difficult situation for the poor Ct : what can they do ? Just stay and wait being broken by shooting (wich was the case last night) ?
5) Do the Ct need to pass a CT in order not to charge ?
Thanks for your answer
Hervé
			 
			
					
				Re: Question about charge
				Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 4:37 pm
				by babyshark
				hcaille wrote:2) Assuming there is no Bw, is it possible for the Ct to wheel in order to charge the Cv already menancing their flank ? 
The Ct can wheel to charge but not more than 90 degrees.  So, if they can hit the Cv with a wheel of 90 degrees or less, then I see no reason why they should not be able to make that charge.
hcaille wrote:3) If the Ct choose to charge he have to do it against Bw but in this case the Cv can make an interception and contact the Ct on the flank. Is it correct ?
I do not think that the Ct must charge the BW (see above).  But if they do charge the Bw, the Cv can make an interception charge.
hcaille wrote:5) Do the Ct need to pass a CT in order not to charge ?
Only if they are lancers, and therefore shock troops.  If they are not lancers, then they can sit there . . . if they want to.
Hope that helps,
Marc
 
			
					
				
				Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 9:15 am
				by hcaille
				Thanks for our answer
Another though about questions 1) and 4) ?
Regards
Hervé
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 11:19 am
				by bahdahbum
				Dear Hervé,
I do not really understand the first question, could you explain or rephrase it ? wht bis the problem with wheeling to contact the CV and not being able to contact the BW ?
I did not put some units on table to represent the situation you describe, but it seems to me hat with a movement of 4 MU, the CT unit would not be able to reach the CV unit in one move ( it is wheeling ) . 
The CT is also in the restricted area caused by the CV so it's options are rather limited to :
advance towards the ennemy BG ( CV )
Wheel towards it
remain in place
move away ( a move that ends further away from the CV BG )
conform to an verlap position against another BG, which in the case yu describe is impossible .
The CT BG must in each case ends it's mve at least partly in front of the ennemy BG .
Of course the CT can always charge the BW, but will be intercepted by the CV and what would have happened is another story .
I hope I did not miss something .
Jacques
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Tue Dec 25, 2007 8:46 am
				by hcaille
				bahdahbum wrote:Dear Hervé,
I do not really understand the first question, could you explain or rephrase it ? wht bis the problem with wheeling to contact the CV and not being able to contact the BW ?
In charge, you cannot wheel if it result contacting less base than if you go straith forward. By wheelin i can contact one Cv and if i go straigt forward i can contact two LF.
bahdahbum wrote:
I did not put some units on table to represent the situation you describe, but it seems to me hat with a movement of 4 MU, the CT unit would not be able to reach the CV unit in one move ( it is wheeling ) . 
It can as the Cv are less than 1 MU from the Ct.
bahdahbum wrote:
The CT is also in the restricted area caused by the CV so it's options are rather limited to :
advance towards the ennemy BG ( CV )
Wheel towards it
remain in place
move away ( a move that ends further away from the CV BG )
conform to an verlap position against another BG, which in the case yu describe is impossible .
The CT BG must in each case ends it's mve at least partly in front of the ennemy BG .
The restricted area apply only during Manoeuvre Phase and my questions are about Charge.
bahdahbum wrote:
Of course the CT can always charge the BW, but will be intercepted by the CV and what would have happened is another story .
I hope I did not miss something .
Jacques
Thanks 
Hervé
 
			
					
				
				Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:58 am
				by bahdahbum
				The Cv are not in front of the CT , so during charge, I would rule that the CT have to charge the BW, the most obvious target for most of them . They would ignore the CV ( most people do not pay attention to their flanks ) and the CV would intercept the CT .
			 
			
					
				
				Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:28 am
				by terrys
				1) It was the player A turn. He want to charge the Cv but we assume it is not possible because if he wheel to face the Cv he cannot contact the Bw and there will be less bases in contact (just one) as if he charge straight forward against the Bw (2 bases in contact). Is it correct ? 
The Ct can only charge the Cv if they can do so by wheeling less than 90deg.  
i.e.   The Cv must be forwards of the front edge of the Ct.  
He can only do so if he can still contact with at least 2 bases.
i.e. he must be able to 'step forwards' up to 2" into the Bw
4) It seems a difficult situation for the poor Ct : what can they do ? Just stay and wait being broken by shooting (wich was the case last night) ? 
If he can't charge both BGs his options are:
1)  Declare a charge on the bows only - which will probably be intercepted by the Cv
2)  Not declare a charge - they will need to pass a CMT - assuming they are lancers
3)  Having successfully not charged they could stay where they are (useful if they have friends to move up and 'pin' the Cv, or they could turn to face the cavalry.