Page 1 of 1

Flank Marches

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:32 am
by Cawdorthane
On p.34 the third bullet point of FoGN it says

"If any unit moves within 12MU of a reserve division's arrival edge and sector the reserves will begin to arrive during the player's next movement Phase...."

Although this section of the rules confusingly refers both to flank marches and reserves interchangeably, is the reference in this bullet point to "reserve divisions" intended only to apply to "Reserves" as defined at p.107 in the glossary? That would be my interpretation..... but the terms used are not consistent or clear?

And if the third bullet point on p.34 does indeed apply to a "Flank March" as as defined at p.106 in the glossary, then if enemy units "deploy" within 12MU of a flank march's arrival edge and sector, does that mean that the flank march automatically arrives on turn 2 without any dice? [shudder]

Probably stupid questions, i know, but I would appreciate guidance.

cheers
Mark

Re: Flank Marches

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:52 am
by BrettPT
I've always read the words "reserve division" as menaing a division held in off table reserve, not a flank march.
So to my mind, flank marches are not auto-activated by enemy within 12MU.

Cheers
Brett

Re: Flank Marches

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:19 pm
by deadtorius
I agree the reserve is the part of your command kept off your rear table edge. As much as we would all like an auto flank march to appear you have to roll for it to show up, one reason I have pondered it but never tried using one yet.

Re: Flank Marches

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:32 pm
by terrys
Although this section of the rules confusingly refers both to flank marches and reserves interchangeably, is the reference in this bullet point to "reserve divisions" intended only to apply to "Reserves" as defined at p.107 in the glossary? That would be my interpretation..... but the terms used are not consistent or clear?

And if the third bullet point on p.34 does indeed apply to a "Flank March" as as defined at p.106 in the glossary, then if enemy units "deploy" within 12MU of a flank march's arrival edge and sector, does that mean that the flank march automatically arrives on turn 2 without any dice? [shudder]
Only divisions held off table in reserve are ffected by the 12MU rule.
Reserves are normally only used by the defender - there not being much benefit for the attacker ..... except for historical and scenario games.