Page 1 of 1
guns and more guns
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 11:02 am
by mrbootsthecat
Hi, just a quick question.
A unit of 6 muskets medium foot , with a regimental gun is in support of a two gun artillery unit. Two files are directly behind the guns, and one is stickingout to the side. They wish to shoot at infantry that ae approaching them from the front. The two artillery fire, and the "exposed" element does. Can they also add the regimental gun?
Thanks
Re: guns and more guns
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:41 pm
by benjones1211
As far as I understand it it is a no because as specified by the rules the regimental gun has an arc of fire from the central file, and that is one of those behind the guns.
Ben
Re: guns and more guns
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:37 pm
by MatteoPasi
benjones1211 wrote:As far as I understand it it is a no because as specified by the rules the regimental gun has an arc of fire from the central file, and that is one of those behind the guns.
Ben
Thats true
Re: guns and more guns
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:15 am
by donm
I haven't got the rules with me at the moment, but don't infantry defending the guns count as where the guns are, occupying the same foot print?
So if the end elements of muskets are firing, surely the regimental gun can support them. Firing one base over?
Don
Re: guns and more guns
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:04 am
by benjones1211
No because those bases behind the guns do not fire, and as the regimental gun has the same arc of fire as the central base which is behind the gun then it doesn't fire.
Ben
Re: guns and more guns
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:07 am
by rbodleyscott
My interpretation is that they don't fire. (Although this is arguable, because the rule Ben alludes to only explicitly covers their arc of fire and target priority).
However, assuming that the RGs are in fact spread across the front of the regiment, it seems reasonable that they should not get a dice when 2/3 of them are masked by the artillery.
However, if the end file only of a BG with RGs is contacted in close combat, the RG does count, as there is no rule that even implies that they don't. Writing the rule so that they didn't count when only the lateral file is hit would just encourage some unrealistic geometrical ploys.
Anyway, I ruled at Britcon (against myself) that they cannot shoot.
A hastily improvised defence against Kevin's massed cuirassiers on Friday forced me to adopt this suboptimal position. Very frustrating after paying 12 points for the RGun.
Moral of the story - think ahead (I wish I could) and use a BG without RGs to defend the guns.