Page 1 of 1

Pursing and steeping forward

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:42 pm
by Rekila
The following situation arouse in our present game. A unit of Genovese crossbowmen (8b in 2 front 4 deep) )charge a disrupted BG of English billmen (4b) with a general . Fragmented them in Impact an after expanding to a front of 3 bases broke them in the melee phase of the same turn (yes that’s how the whole affair is going!) The billmen run away, interpenetrating in the process the rear corner base of a longbow BG. The pursing Genovese followed contacting with one base the longbowmen so charging them in the flank. So far so good! The question is, as they have now charged a new BG is the pursing over. The billmen are only one MU away so if the bases not in contact step forward they can still maintain the contact with the broken billmen forcing the lost of a base and a death roll on the commander.

Re: Pursing and steeping forward

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:14 pm
by hazelbark
Yes they hit and you roll for Commander.

Re: Pursing and steeping forward

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:17 pm
by rogerg
I don't have the rules to hand, but I think the answer is that they do step forward after making a new contact. If they contact the fleeing BG first they would not step forward.

Re: Pursing and steeping forward

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:50 am
by bbotus
rogerg wrote:I don't have the rules to hand, but I think the answer is that they do step forward after making a new contact. If they contact the fleeing BG first they would not step forward.
Agreed, the reference is the 2nd bullet, 2nd column, page 108: Contact with a new unit is treated like a charge so you step forward.