Page 1 of 2

Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:58 pm
by philqw78
Free rules Here JD must be ill.

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:30 pm
by hazelbark
Awesome.

A free beer for you Phil.

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:16 pm
by philqw78
See you in August

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:18 pm
by IanB3406
Btw- what is he benefit of the attached artillery base in the quick play rules. The two Austrian line have this. Is it already figured into the shooting ability of the Austrian line?

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:26 pm
by IanB3406
And why is medium and short range listed as the same 2-6".

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:29 pm
by philqw78
I would have thought mainly its because the rules are only 6 pages long and the artillery attachment makes it look interesting. But I don't know, I haven't read either set.

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:46 pm
by terrys
Btw- what is he benefit of the attached artillery base in the quick play rules. The two Austrian line have this. Is it already figured into the shooting ability of the Austrian line?
Because it saves you having to work it out. The 'total' dice for each unit is given - allowing for attachments.

Code: Select all

And why is medium and short range listed as the same 2-6".
To keep you on your toes - alright - its an error! - should be 2"

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 4:16 pm
by deeter
Very nice, but formatting of some charts are off, several confusing typos and some unit pictures are wrong.

Deeter

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:25 pm
by IanB3406
Ok! I think I got it. It means the 2 dice at medium range represent only the artillery firing. Will try this scenario out tonight and see how it goes.

Ian

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:49 am
by Chasseur
Hi,

Yes, you got that right.

In the full rules an artillery attachment adds 2 dice if firing separately at medium range. The firing spearately occurs if the infantry has no skirmish capability (so can only fire at short range). In all other situations the artillery attachment adds 1 dice.

Regards,
John Shaw

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 11:20 pm
by Blathergut
What size are bases for 25/28mm? I couldn't find mention in the Quick Play sheets.

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 11:27 pm
by Blathergut
And I can't seem to get them to print properly. The double pages won't fit on 8.5 x 11.

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:00 am
by Blathergut
Blathergut wrote:And I can't seem to get them to print properly. The double pages won't fit on 8.5 x 11.
Got it...had to go into printing options. :oops:

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:00 am
by Blathergut
Blathergut wrote:What size are bases for 25/28mm? I couldn't find mention in the Quick Play sheets.
Found it (60mm x 45mm) in forum postings.

Re: Extended Lines Firing!!??

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 2:03 am
by Blathergut
Does an extended Austrian line, 4 bases wide, shoot with 12 (6 and 6) dice at close range??!!

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:00 am
by donm
Both halves of any infantry in extended line can do this, however only large units get that number of dice.

It is also very difficult to concentrate all that fire on to one target.

In my experience (play testing) close range firing only takes place during an assault by the defending unit.

It is unadvisable to assault a unit of infantry if it is in good order, unless you can rely on very good dice.

Don

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:56 am
by BrettPT
donm wrote: In my experience (play testing) close range firing only takes place during an assault by the defending unit.
Don
i usually field unreformed Austrians where there is plenty of close range shooting. A common tactic of mine is to assault with a large unit of Austrians with attached artillery - with little intention of charging home. You advance to 2MU of the enemy in the assault, they carry out defence fire and you cross fingers they don't do 4 hits (reduced to 3 for being a large target) as this drives you back to 3MU out of close range.

If they do anyting less than 4 hits, you elect not to push the assault home but stay at 2MU (representing shaking the columns out into line rather than pressing home with the bayonet)

You then get to shoot first in the shooting phase, with 8 dice (down to 6 if you are disordered) and hopefully seriously damage the enemy before they reply in defensive shooting.

You can then try to rally your infantry at the end of your turn in the recovery phase.

Works sometimes, but other times you are simply giving the enemy 2 close range shots (once in defensive fire, then again in the shooting step).
dangerous, but you cannot sit back at 6 MU if you can't skirmish shoot. Your opponent will simply park at skirmish range and shoot you until you are disordered, then close with his fresh units for the kill.

Cheers
Brett

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:59 am
by Blathergut
Thanks for the help. This is all just working from the Quick Play sheets until rules arrive.

Another:

The Quick Play sheets, page two, under "What type of moves..." states you pass a CMT if, when you roll two dice, "a 5 or 6 pops up on either dice."

But on the Movement Table, page four, it states at the bottom of it that you pass a CMT if you roll 5 or greater.

Which is it?

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:11 pm
by Blathergut
And another (am I driving you all crazy yet??):

It isn't clear for this foggy olde brain about charging. If I assault a unit, I move into contact? Yet it seems like there is a firing round before contact is made. So when I charge, (as in the comment above), do I stop short? And we both fire? And if I survive and pass a CMT (depending on hits), I then move into contact and we'll be using combat dice and no firing dice?

Re: Free Quick Play Rules

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 3:10 pm
by Blathergut
Nabbed a copy of the rules...I see it is a certain number on a dice.