Page 1 of 1

Firing CRT vs Rule CRT

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 3:39 am
by hazelbark
Was looking at the CRT at back for firing medium range extra dice for artillery attachment.

It reads +2 if firing separatedly.

Not knowing what that meant I turned to page 49. I see nothing like that.

+2 for no skirmishers in unit firinng.
+1 otherwise.

So is the CRT in error?

Re: Firing CRT vs Rule CRT

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:29 am
by terrys
Artillery attachments can (normally) add dice to the fire of its parent. In most cases this will give the unit +1 dice at medium range. Where a unit does not have any integral skirmisher - i.e. unreformed infantry or any cavalry unit, they will not be able to fire at medium range. We therefore allow an attached artillery 2 dice at medium range (firing on its own!).
There are 2 reasons for this:
1) Firing with 1 dice can't do any 'real' damage.
2) They will be slightly more effective because there aren't any of its own skirmishers to get in the way.

Re: Firing CRT vs Rule CRT

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:15 pm
by hazelbark
Now i see. I was just confused because the two charts have different wording.

Re: Firing CRT vs Rule CRT

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:25 pm
by terrys
In retrospect both may have been better worded as:
Artillery attachment is the only base in the unit capable of firing at medium range: +2
Artillery attachment adding to existing firing dice in other situations: +1

(if space permitted of course)

Re: Firing CRT vs Rule CRT

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:50 pm
by hazelbark
terrys wrote:In retrospect

(if space permitted of course)
Both are always easier.