Page 1 of 1

Charging Looters?

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:45 pm
by Misericordia
Some help please. Suppose a BG of light horse moves into contact with a fortified enemy camp in the maneuver phase. The LH fail to roll a 6.

Now what? Since they are mounted in contact with (presumably) steady foot, do they have to break off?

If not, do they remain in contact with the camp even if endangered by approaching enemy? CAN they voluntarily break off to avoid a flank or rear charge from said approaching enemy? If charged, can they evade?


More succinctly, what if any, are the restrictions on a BG attempting (so far unsuccessfully) to loot a fortified camp?


Thanks,

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 5:42 pm
by david53
As far as i remember if your still trying to sack the fortified camp if charged you can evade and IIRC you can move away as you have'nt broken in to the camp.

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:20 pm
by hazelbark
A camp is not defined as "foot" so there are no steady foot to break off from.

Under Battle Groups it reads
The army’s supply camp is not a battle group.

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:27 pm
by Bagration
@David53 - Thanks for that and it makes sense. I don't suppose you remember which section/page pertains to this?

What happens if the attacking unit breaks into the camp and has yet to pass a CMT to stop looting and is then charged? Can that unit Evade?

Thanks.

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:44 am
by petedalby
I don't believe that it is covered explicitly in the rules but what Dave describes is how I've seen it played. There is nothing to stop a BG from moving away from a Fortified Camp it is in contact with - assuming you haven't sacked it.

Until a BG has rallied from looting it may not move - so no, I do not believe that it can choose to evade.

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 2:45 pm
by Bagration
Thanks for the clarification. This discussion has prompted a number of other questions:

1. Does an opponent have to charge a unit that is looting or can it simply move into contact during maneuver?

2. How many bases of the looting unit fight and in what direction?

3. Does a looting unit have flanks for purposes of dropping a Cohesion level?

4. What happens if the looting unit is cavalry and is contacted while looting by steady foot? Assuming the foot remains steady through combat, would the horse then have to Break Off?

Sorry to be pedantic about this...

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 2:54 pm
by philqw78
Bagration wrote:Thanks for the clarification. This discussion has prompted a number of other questions:

1. Does an opponent have to charge a unit that is looting or can it simply move into contact during maneuver?
A looter is not fighting so it would have be charged. Moving into contact would do nothing even if allowed
2. How many bases of the looting unit fight and in what direction?
Well none are 'fighting' the camp. So any that are in contact with enemy and facing the right direction and those bases behind as normal.
3. Does a looting unit have flanks for purposes of dropping a Cohesion level?
yes it is as it is. If its front edge is in contact with the camp it may only be charged in flank or rear.
4. What happens if the looting unit is cavalry and is contacted while looting by steady foot? Assuming the foot remains steady through combat, would the horse then have to Break Off?
Providing it is not facing in two directions yes, if it can.