Page 1 of 1

Newbie Question (Again)

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:01 am
by Anleiher
We had the following situation come up this afternoon:

Unit A (LH x 4) faced enemy Unit B (MF bow x 6). In the exchange of fire Unit A went disordered, then subsequently fragmented. In it's movement turn, it passed a cohesion test, turned 180 degrees moved 3 inches and turned 180 again. The net effect was to increase the distance between Units A & B to 4.5 MU.

Unit B then declared a charge on the fragmented Unit A in its impact phase, even though the distance between them exceeded the normal charge distance for MF, because Unit A was capable of evading.

QUESTION: Is the potential additional 2 MU for charging a target capable of evading limited to shock ?

Re: Newbie Question (Again)

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:45 am
by expendablecinc
Anleiher wrote:We had the following situation come up this afternoon:

Unit A (LH x 4) faced enemy Unit B (MF bow x 6). In the exchange of fire Unit A went disordered, then subsequently fragmented. In it's movement turn, it passed a cohesion test, turned 180 degrees moved 3 inches and turned 180 again. The net effect was to increase the distance between Units A & B to 4.5 MU.

Unit B then declared a charge on the fragmented Unit A in its impact phase, even though the distance between them exceeded the normal charge distance for MF, because Unit A was capable of evading.

QUESTION: Is the potential additional 2 MU for charging a target capable of evading limited to shock ?
No. You can only declare charges if within normal movement range (including reductions for terrain etc..). Whether the target is capable of evading or not is irrelevant.

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:55 am
by Anleiher
No. You can only declare charges if within normal movement range (including reductions for terrain etc..). Whether the target is capable of evading or not is irrelevant.


On page 58, right hand column, 2nd paragraph it says to allow 2MU extra. Is this (a) specific to shock and (b) does this apply to UNDECLARED charges only or (c) does is apply to DECLARED charges as well?

Thanks, especially for the quick response.

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:50 am
by expendablecinc
Anleiher wrote:
No. You can only declare charges if within normal movement range (including reductions for terrain etc..). Whether the target is capable of evading or not is irrelevant.


On page 58, right hand column, 2nd paragraph it says to allow 2MU extra. Is this (a) specific to shock and (b) does this apply to UNDECLARED charges only or (c) does is apply to DECLARED charges as well?

Thanks, especially for the quick response.
No book on me so cant comment on the text in the book at this stage. Is the part you are refering to referring to the 2 inch step forwards? If so the step forwards cant coutn regardless if the LH are no other enemy to hit on the way in.

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:37 am
by Anleiher
Is the part you are refering to referring to the 2 inch step forwards? If so the step forwards cant coutn regardless if the LH are no other enemy to hit on the way in.
No. This section deals with the distance a unit MUST consider it's charge distance, i.e. regular distance + 2 MU, in instances where the target is evade capable; in this case LH.

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 am
by nikgaukroger
Anleiher wrote:
No. You can only declare charges if within normal movement range (including reductions for terrain etc..). Whether the target is capable of evading or not is irrelevant.


On page 58, right hand column, 2nd paragraph it says to allow 2MU extra. Is this (a) specific to shock and (b) does this apply to UNDECLARED charges only or (c) does is apply to DECLARED charges as well?

Thanks, especially for the quick response.

That is only for charges that may happen without being declared, and the part you are referring to to is specifically about when shock troops need not test to avoid charging. For a declared charge you must be within normal move range.

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:13 am
by hammy
I am fairly sure this is covered in the errata.

An extra line break found its way into the final rules just before the bit about the +2MU.

A BG can only charge up to its notmal move distance.

Shock troops may be exempt from being forced to charge if a maximum VMD could end up with them in a silly situation. This is to prevent people setting 'traps' for enemy troops where for example they have a BG of light foot infront of a BG of for example elephants and the light foot move to charge reach of the enemy knights while the elephants sit just outside that distance hoping for the knights to roll a high VMD.

Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:14 am
by lawrenceg
nikgaukroger wrote:
Anleiher wrote:
No. You can only declare charges if within normal movement range (including reductions for terrain etc..). Whether the target is capable of evading or not is irrelevant.


On page 58, right hand column, 2nd paragraph it says to allow 2MU extra. Is this (a) specific to shock and (b) does this apply to UNDECLARED charges only or (c) does is apply to DECLARED charges as well?

Thanks, especially for the quick response.

That is only for charges that may happen without being declared, and the part you are referring to to is specifically about when shock troops need not test to avoid charging. For a declared charge you must be within normal move range.
More specifically:

Undeclared charges can only happen if there is a target within normal charge distance.

Undeclared charges also cannot happen if the charging BG could reach certain things, e.g. bad terrain. When deciding whether the charge could reach the terrain etc, you must consider the possibility that the target evades and the chargers roll +2 MU on their VMD. It does not allow you to add +2MU to your normal distance when deciding if an enemy BG is in charge range before declaring a charge, nor does it make an undeclared charge possible if there is NO target within normal charge range.

THis rule confuses a lot of people and would benefit from clarification in v2.0