Page 1 of 1

turning battlelines and movemeant

Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 6:36 pm
by sparabara88
in a game we played recently a battle line of two irreguler kn with a gen 6 inches away fom nearest enemy turned and then both moved away in a second move, both units passed the test to make the turn
i think this was wrong, as i read it a battleline can only do a simple advance which means it cannot include anything more than a wheel, so you would be able to turn and move one bg that had the gen with it but not both
am i correct?

Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 6:46 pm
by hammy
Correct, a battle line can only make advances and a turn is most definitely not an advance.

Even if this maneuver was done by two BGs they would not end up as a single group because of the way the shape of the formation would change when it turned 90.

Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 6:51 pm
by dave_r
Yes. Battlelines can only do a simple advance including a wheel.

Battlelines also have to remain in contact for the entire move, which they clearly aren't if they are turning 90 degrees and such like.

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:27 am
by gozerius
And, of course, a general must be a part of the battleline for the entire maneuver phase.

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:21 am
by Andy1972
This could legally done only by... (not as a battle group) Each unit was over 6"away from the enemy, had an officer and each made their CT roll to turn. So unit a rolls CT to turn then(if they made it), make their 4" move as a second move.. Then you goto the next unit and do the same. DO NOT roll for each then move.. The moves are done one unit at a time. :)

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 1:54 am
by deadtorius
I think you meant not as a battle line, and if you are undrilled battle troops you can not turn and move, so its still restricted to the smarty pants drilled show offs only for foot troops at least.

Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 11:12 pm
by sparabara88
deadtorius wrote:I think you meant not as a battle line, and if you are undrilled battle troops you can not turn and move, so its still restricted to the smarty pants drilled show offs only for foot troops at least.
it was two units of irreguler kn, 6in away from our units, he diced for both turned 180 and did a second move away in a battleline.
one unit with the genrel could make a second move but the other unit could not
i had never seen this done before and it felt wrong but on the day could not find it in the rules, it was only when we got home that i found it, a battleline can only do a simple advance
in the end it made no difference we still got the win

Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:25 am
by deadtorius
Good for you, that showed his fancy cheating knights that legal rules players will win in the end :D