Page 1 of 1

Order of compulsory charges

Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:23 pm
by graym
A unit of knights and lancer cav both fail not to charge.

The cav goes first , contacts , and blocks the knights totally from contacting the enemy.

Do the knights
A Follow the original charge path as far as they can and then get blocked by the cav
B Not move at all
C Contract and wheel around the cav , and possibly end up facing the flank [ but not yet contacting ] of the intended enemy.
Still this ends up with a charge without an impact along a path not announced.

If so , would the the displaced chargers be able to impact someone else who has found themselves in this new path?

Due to the width of the cav even an overlap position was not possible in this case.

Re: Order of compulsory charges

Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 2:13 pm
by nikgaukroger
graym wrote:A unit of knights and lancer cav both fail not to charge.

The cav goes first , contacts , and blocks the knights totally from contacting the enemy.

Do the knights
A Follow the original charge path as far as they can and then get blocked by the cav
B Not move at all
C Contract and wheel around the cav , and possibly end up facing the flank [ but not yet contacting ] of the intended enemy.
Still this ends up with a charge without an impact along a path not announced.

If so , would the the displaced chargers be able to impact someone else who has found themselves in this new path?

Due to the width of the cav even an overlap position was not possible in this case.

This occasionally crops up and, IIRC, is not really covered by anything in the rules.

When umpiring I have said (at least on occasion, I won't claim complete consistency here) that you must arrange the charges such that they can both occur - be that by the order of the charge, a BG wheeling, or whatever. I don't think I've seen one that was completely impossible, but it must be possible, in which case I'd probably come up with some arbitrary ruling such as the fastest moving BG must make contact or roll a dice to see which does so.

Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 8:39 am
by graym
I thought it wasnt covered. Who contacts first is relatively easy if you go down the who is faster path. [ assuming someone is faster]

The main issue I found was where does the other one go and who else do they hit. Which seems unresolved.

If we had played both have to hit [ contracting etc] it would have played out better for me !

I suppose if these things happen umpires have to make a call without much to back them up.

Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:08 pm
by gozerius
There is a section in the charge rules that states that a BG which cannot complete a charge, even by dropping back a base, has its charge cancelled.

Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 1:25 am
by graym
That would fix it although the way it is written at the end of the section on page 54 I wasnt
sure whether they were taking about all of the turns, expansions , contractions or only the one to avoid enemy.

It does make sense that everything is included.