Page 1 of 1

Feeding Bases into Melee

Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:32 pm
by wilf12358
Hi Chaps,

Question arose last night when dusting off Fog for a run through - (600pt Syracusan Greeks vs. Rep. Roman.)

When is a 'melee' not a 'melee' when 'feeding bases into an existing melee', as per p72-72 of the rules?

The active Roman player impacted a Cav BG (1 row x 4 files) into my Greek Cav BG (2 rows x 3 files) with only one file of four hitting.

(Actually a missed impact evade pursuit after my BG of slingers, but that's a different story).

Impact resolved, nothing conclusive.

Next phase - Manoeuvre - the active Roman player now wants to feed a base to improve his melee dice, similar to the cavalry feed in the 'melee 2' daigram on the bottom of p73.

I suggested he couldn't do this yet as we had not yet reached the first melee phase of that close combat encounter.

It therefore wasn't yet an 'existing melee'?

I conceded the point on reading the 'involved in close combat' reference at the begining of the text. He fed his base in before being well and truley battered!

Just wondered which interpretation was correct?


Cheers,
Wilf

Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 2:02 pm
by rbodleyscott
From the FAQ at http://www.fieldofglory.com/file/FAQ_ver5.01.pdf

"5. FEEDING MORE BASES INTO AN EXISTING MELEE

Can more bases be fed into a melee in the manoeuvre phase immediately following the initial impact combat?

Yes. The melee is deemed to exist immediately after resolution of the impact combat."

Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:55 am
by wilf12358
Richard,
Thanks for the clarification.
I'll just have to temper my weaseling ways!
Cheers,
Wilf