Page 1 of 2

Shock troops against portable defences

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 5:00 am
by Hermano
Hello,
mounted shock troops do they test to not charge against foot behind stakes? (I hope not, because they might be impetous but not idiot).
Is it possible to place stakes when enemy are less than 6MU? (if yes, it is a bit odd. Imagine to place stakes on the groung while horses are charging and they are few meters to you. Doesn't seem real).

Re: Shock troops against portable defences

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 5:03 am
by david53
Hermano wrote:Hello,
mounted shock troops do they test to not charge against foot behind stakes? (I hope not, because they might be impetous but not idiot).
Is it possible to place stakes when enemy are less than 6MU? (if yes, it is a bit odd. Imagine to place stakes on the groung while horses are charging and they are few meters to you. Doesn't seem real).
Yes they test

and

Yes they can

MH!

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:36 am
by Hermano
Are you sure?
I read in the rulebook that shock troops doesnt test to not charge against foot behind fortification.
Portable defences are considered as fortification, so i guess shock troops dont charge spontaneously.

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:17 pm
by philqw78
Fortifications are fortifications portable defences are portable defences. Think this is in the FAQ. Since shock will not charge into going the treat as bad, and when in contact with PD they do not count as in good going it should be

Re: MH!

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 4:43 pm
by david53
Hermano wrote:Are you sure?
I read in the rulebook that shock troops doesnt test to not charge against foot behind fortification.
Portable defences are considered as fortification, so i guess shock troops dont charge spontaneously.
Its in the FAQ page two the part about shock charging PF.

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:49 pm
by AlanCutner
Just want to check - can a BG that tested successfully to place PO, move and place them? Or must they be stationary?

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:19 pm
by dave_r
The rules are remarkably quiet about that.

I'd also like to know if you can unform Orb and then move...

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:41 pm
by nikgaukroger
A battle group carrying PD can place them (or pick them up) in the manoeuvre phase as a full complex move.

The last 4 words make it clear that it is all the BG can do.

Must admit I'm not so sure about the Orb query - I suspect it is supposed to be stationary, however, I can't spot anything that says :?

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 8:16 pm
by shall
An Orb cannot move in the same turn it leaves but has the option to face in any of its directions

Si

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 8:23 pm
by dave_r
shall wrote:An Orb cannot move in the same turn it leaves but has the option to face in any of its directions

Si
Can you just point me where in the rules it states this?

Posted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 3:07 am
by philqw78
shall wrote:An Orb cannot move in the same turn it leaves but has the option to face in any of its directions

Si
"has the option to face in any of its directions" what a pointless statement for a square

Posted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:47 am
by shall
?? surely quite useful - you can form up to old front, side or rear having escaped your crisis .... I ahve only formed orb 4 times and only left it once but I did it facing sideways and it helped.

Dave .... in the section on orb it says you can do this when leaving orb. Don't think it says anywhere you can do 2 CMTs in a move and it takes 1 CMT to leave orb, or 1 to turn and move as drilled which they can't from orb without first getting into normal formation. So your move is over after the CMT and what you are thereby allowed to do. Otherwise why not turn and move, and do another move after that CMT ??

I guess you could make a second move if outside 6MU.

Si

Posted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 8:56 am
by dave_r
shall wrote:Dave .... in the section on orb it says you can do this when leaving orb. Don't think it says anywhere you can do 2 CMTs in a move and it takes 1 CMT to leave orb, or 1 to turn and move as drilled which they can't from orb without first getting into normal formation. So your move is over after the CMT and what you are thereby allowed to do. Otherwise why not turn and move, and do another move after that CMT ??

I guess you could make a second move if outside 6MU.

Si
I understand you can only carry out one manoever in a turn, but what is to stop you unforming Orb (1 CMT) and then moving forward as a simple advance?

Posted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:53 am
by shall
Perhaps he is - will take another look.

Must say I have never played it that way.

But then you don't see orbs often so fairly irrelevant.

Si

Posted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 1:44 pm
by dave_r
I don't really think it should be played this way either. Because there is also nothing to stop you moving and then setting up Orb.

Probably one for the FAQ's as it simply isn't there what should be happening.

Incidentally, the "Dave is Right" is my signature now that Mr Briggs was daft enough to say something like that on the intertent. I belive Hammy has now suspended Graham from posting on the Slitherine forum :)

Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:07 am
by shall
The reason I have always ruled yo can't do either is that the rules say what you can do. If we wrote down everything you can't it would be qite a tome.
  • Anytime a CMT is mentioned in the rules, we define what you get for that CMT in total. So for drilled foot we say you can turn AND move for a CMT.
    In Orb we say you leave or from orb with CMT, and this therefore is all you get for that CMT. Had we wanted you to be able to mvoe as well we would have said so, consistently with other CMTs.
    So the question is rather where do we say you can unform and move - it dosnt. Nor does it say the Orb can't fly over opposing troops....
    As you cay otherwise you could move and form Orb. And indeed if you extend such a the logic that CMT then allowed a free move, you could turn and move and move as drilled foot ...
    Hence always best to think of a CMT giving you just what is mentioned and your CTM move is over.
    Probably should have put FULL complex move we did wth POs
No doubt you 1000+ expert players will find an anomally in no time to keep me awake!

Happy to bounce it off Richard and Terry and see if they see it the same and then FAQ it, but Orbs not worth vasat amounts of effort.

Si

Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:13 am
by dave_r
Happy to bounce it off Richard and Terry and see if they see it the same and then FAQ it, but Orbs not worth vsat amounts of effort.
I think we have found the root of the problem :)

Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:04 pm
by babyshark
dave_r wrote: Incidentally, the "Dave is Right" is my signature now that Mr Briggs was daft enough to say something like that on the intertent. I belive Hammy has now suspended Graham from posting on the Slitherine forum :)
All the moderators have communicated on this issue, and have decided to make it a forum policy: anyone daft enough to agree with Mr. Ruddock is permanently removed from the forum.

:D

Marc

Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 2:26 pm
by kal5056
It is about time we got this ruling from an author:

"Nor does it say the Orb can't fly over opposing troops...."

Finally Rich Olier's Macedonians may be beatable.

Gino
SMAC

Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 6:34 pm
by shall
Glad to have been of assistance :D

Si