Page 1 of 1

direction of an impetuous charge

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 1:58 pm
by expendablecinc
If a BG of Shock Mounted do not declare a charge (and hence do not declare a path) and the enemy to thier front evade must the chargers pursue the evaders regardless of the direction of the evade? Assume there are no other enemy within charge range?

Can they instead elect to go straight ahead? Is there any choice available to those who have not declared a path (ie failed a test to hold)?

What if there other enemy within charge range but not straight ahead?

Anthony

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:01 pm
by caliban66
I think once you fail you CMT, you must treat the situation as if you had declared a charge, thus defining a direction of charge allowed by the rules. Then your opponent evades, etc.

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:26 pm
by hazelbark
caliban66 wrote:I think once you fail you CMT, you must treat the situation as if you had declared a charge, thus defining a direction of charge allowed by the rules. Then your opponent evades, etc.
Yep and an impetuous charge must meet the normal requirements (# of bases required to contact etc.)

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:02 pm
by david53
hazelbark wrote:
caliban66 wrote:I think once you fail you CMT, you must treat the situation as if you had declared a charge, thus defining a direction of charge allowed by the rules. Then your opponent evades, etc.
Yep and an impetuous charge must meet the normal requirements (# of bases required to contact etc.)

I thought that was only if contact was made.

If your forced to charge and the enemy evade all you need to do is clip a spot that the enemy were at before there evade and thus you can wheel.

Of course I could be wrong not got the rules book with me :)

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:07 pm
by batesmotel
david53 wrote:
hazelbark wrote:
caliban66 wrote:I think once you fail you CMT, you must treat the situation as if you had declared a charge, thus defining a direction of charge allowed by the rules. Then your opponent evades, etc.
Yep and an impetuous charge must meet the normal requirements (# of bases required to contact etc.)

I thought that was only if contact was made.

If your forced to charge and the enemy evade all you need to do is clip a spot that the enemy were at before there evade and thus you can wheel.

Of course I could be wrong not got the rules book with me :)
You need to declare your initial charge direction before the opponent evades and it must be legal at that point if he did not choose to evade. This is the charge direction used to determine the legal evade direction. If your opponent then does evade you may alter your charge direction to more directly pursue the evaders but must otherwise follow the original charge direction is my understanding.

Chris

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:39 pm
by hammy
Nearly,

You can only change the direction after an evade if the evaders are no longer in the path of the charge but otherwise the comment that the charge direction can only be changed based on the number of bases that would contact if the charged BG does not evade is correct.