Page 1 of 1
flank charge
Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 7:18 pm
by sparabara88
http://s762.photobucket.com/albums/xx26 ... 0_2062.jpg
in a practice game we had today a bg of roman mf charged two bg of light foot which evaded through a bg of samatian lancers, the mf charge contacted the side of the lancers with there front corner no wheel was needed,none were to the front of the samatians at the start of the move but the base that hit them did start behind a line extending from the samatians front edge,
does this count as a flank charge, what would happen in the manoeuvre phase would i wheel around to contact? i think the lf were in the way
Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 7:30 pm
by deadtorius
Flank charges are covered on pages 55-57 of the rules. sounds like a flank charge, none of the chargers were directly in front of the cav, as long as you had at least one full base completely behind the front line of the cav unit.
The cav unit would have its bases turned 90 degrees in this case to face the Romans so they end up in frontal contact with the Romans.
bit of bad luck there on the part of the Sarmatians.
Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:07 pm
by hammy
Looks like a flank charge to me
Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:47 am
by sparabara88
here is the pics from the game, we made a few mistakes like forgeting the cat's were better armour and that the samatian's should have broken off from steady foot, also the aux that charged the lf and hit the samatian cv in the side should have stepped forward and caught the lf who had rolled down on there vmd
we used yellow for disrupted and red for shaken
http://cid-02e34512608e9828.skydrive.li ... ew%20album
Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 4:41 pm
by JamesB
sparabara88 wrote:here is the pics from the game, we made a few mistakes like forgeting the cat's were better armour and that the samatian's should have broken off from steady foot, also the aux that charged the lf and hit the samatian cv in the side should have stepped forward and caught the lf who had rolled down on there vmd
we used yellow for disrupted and red for shaken
http://cid-02e34512608e9828.skydrive.li ... ew%20album
From this photo:
http://cid-02e34512608e9828.skydrive.li ... E_2064.jpg
it appears you didn't mark the Cav contacted in the flank down a moral grade.
Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 3:58 pm
by Polkovnik
Also in one photo it appears that lancers have failed a CMT and charged through their own LF. However, the charge target is in uneven terrain. So the lancers shouldn't have charged, as you don't test if your move could end in terrain that disorders you.